We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Great Changes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radiance Inn And Suites
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing Hotel, Great Changes”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I previously stayed here a year ago and had my stay ruined by an unprofessional front desk agent with red hair. I believe her name was Marissa. I stayed here again this past month and found that the hotel had made some big improvements. The front desk agent that ruined my stay was let go and they revamped their customer service. Check-in was smooth and quick with no problems. They answered all my questions and even provided me a detailed list of attractions that me and my family would enjoy. The housekeepers were real stars. They cleaned my room spotless and gave me fresh linen in towels even when they were ready to leave for the day. The rooms were redone with new Televisions, furniture, and the rooms were re-painted. I was definately astounded by the changes they made in customers service and the quality of the hotel room. I will definately be staying here when I visit Rochester this spring.

Keep Up the Great Work!!!

Room Tip: Their fifth floor is a smoking floor, so for nonsmokers I suggest requesting a nonsmoking room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    56
    41
    28
    33
See reviews for
88
49
18
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our daughter began at University of Rochester this fall, so we will be traveling many times there over then next four years. We stayed twice at the LaQuinta North, but we will never stay there again. I reserved non-smoking room several weeks in advance. I have asthma so smoke is a problem. We were delayed so I phoned the hotel in the afternoon and told them we would not arrive until midnight or after. I was assured this would not be a problem. When we arrived at 1:30am the hotel was fully booked and the only available room was a smoking one. We reluctantly took it because it was not the hour to be looking for another hotel. I asked for a break on the price and was told I would not be given one. The next day we were moved to a non-smoking room, and this one had an even smaller bathroom than the prior one. I wrote to the management of the hotel nearly two weeks ago, and they have not responded. This hotel is poorly run and a mess, and the staff is poorly trained and unhelpful. We will never stay here again and would not recommend anyone do so, particularly after reading the prior review indicating the prostitution issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here, or attempted to last week and could not figure out why there was so much commotion taking place in the room next door. I called to the desk and asked for them to help or move us and the night clerk laughed. I was made to feel as if we were imposing. We left immediately. We found another hotel nearby and was then informed that this property and that street have a reputation for prostitution. There was another couple on check out in a heated discussion in the lobby about a jacuzzi room that they booked and did not recieve. It all made sense on reflection.

Never again!

Room Tip: Don't stay there is my tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EscapesNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed two days with my family last week in this hotel. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The break fast is really good and there was a staff monitored and made sure there is sufficient food and the lobby is clean.

The rooms are spacious and the units had digital heater controls.

The wifi at the hotel was very slow and could be improved. I went with children and the hotel didn't have any games or arcades, so I had to keep my children inside the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my first time at a LaQuinta. I love their commercials and expected better. You get what you pay for. The room was clean and adequate. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good. But the girl at the desk clearly didn't want to be there. And the whole atmosphere just felt "uncomfortable." My husband went down to the exercise room and didn't stay long. He didn't like the looks of the people walking around. The people in the room above us were making a lot of noise until about 2 am. Poor neighborhood and it's basically behind a gas station. If I hadn't prepaid we would have gone to one of the places we really like in Rochester.
The room itself wasn't bad, and the breakfast was fine. But it was a place we wanted to get out of really early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. Not only did we book online and book a king suite with a jacuzzi tub, we supposedly got a great deal. NOT!!!!!! We were told when we arrived that they could not accept the room rate we booked and they did not have a king suite with jacuzzi tub at that rate. I should have investigated this hotel more so this is really fault on my part. The location is horrible kind of a creepy neighborhood. We decided to stay due to the fact that it was late when we arrived and we had drove from another state. Big mistake! Staff was rude and did not help in any way. Room was disgusting, bathroom was gross, we went to get breakfast before 10am and they were taking care of it when I asked if I could get something before they took care of it they told me they were not going to restock and I was out of luck. In the pictures it shows that there is a fridge in the king suite with a chair, when we got the room that we did not order there was no fridge and no furniture other than bed and tv and desk. I was not pleased at all. I have stayed in cheaper hotels that were so, so, so much better than this dump. The first night we stayed there was cops in the hotel due to something going on. I asked to speak to the manager the next morning and I was handed a business card and the staff told me they could not help me with any issues. I called the number that I was given and it was the direct line to the hotel and was then told the manager is never in on the weekends and If I wanted to speak to him I would have to wait until Monday when he comes in. I told them I wanted something done immediately and they told me they could not do anything to help me. I will never stay here ever again and I do note recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. We decided to go shopping and found some places to shop. There were so many other hotels that were close to so much shopping and restaurants and so much better quality. Never go here!!!

Room Tip: No pool, no refrigerator, no furniture, tiny bathrooms, non friendly staff, never stay here@!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#24 of 29 in Rochester
73 reviews
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - Greece
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Rochester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Rochester Airport
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radiance Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radiance Inn And Suites

Property: Radiance Inn And Suites
Address: 1956 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14606-2319 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Rochester North)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radiance Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Radiance Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
La Quinta Rochester
Rochester La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing