We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, cold beers and a view”
Review of Rochester Taproom

Rochester Taproom
Ranked #753 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Restaurant details
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service, cold beers and a view”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Taproom for a few drinks with my husband and a friend. I had the blackberry mojito and it was strong and very tasty. They also have a great selection of beers on tap and good drink specials. I didn't get a chance to try the food but them menu is simple bar food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kstark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Dry Sausage”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stopped by Rochester Taprooom at the end of a World Cup game. It is formerly known as the Tap and Table but has retained most vestiges of its former name. The drink list and decor are mainly the same but the menu features light appetizers, loaded fries, and house-made sausage. The sausage menu features a number of topping combinations. It did take additional time to receive our drink and food orders. I tried the house-made chicken sausage which was very dry and bland. However the toppings (salsa, avocado, and cilantro) were quite tasty. My friend ordered the pork sausage and while she enjoyed her toppings her sausage was a bit on the dry side. The restaurant is located in the Corn Hill section of Rochester so there is a nice view of the canal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uvarobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER NY
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quiet afternoon lunch w a friend, great first impression”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stopped in on weekday afternoon ( about 1:30p on a Wednesday). Was very quiet, so we had a chance to chat w the barman, explore the diverse beer and cider list, and have some very good lunch.
The weather was a bit grey and blustery, so we passed on the option of out door patio, but what a great venue on the river, for nice days.
Sausage sandwiches, with several choices for sausage as well as dressing and sandwich 'fixin's'
I thought it was a great place to revisit, perhaps during World Cup, when they are running special beer prices, and they do have good TV coverage all over for the games.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went for date night and the kick off to beer week. We were greeted and sat immediately outside where we wanted. The service was very good until they got busy then a little slow. Our server was very good but too overwhelmed, they need more servers on a Friday night. They have a good selection of local craft beers and our appetizer was calamari and very good. They specialize in homemade sausage with different toppings, and with it being warm weather the did the same with hamburgers. Well my husband ordered sausage and he was very happy with it. I ordered a hamburger and it was really bad. They use very thin frozen beef burgers that are over cooked, very similar to a fast food burger, but you do get good toppings. The price for the sausage and the burger was very overpriced. We will go back for drinks on the water and an appetizer but will not eat dinner there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rochester Taproom also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rochester Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing