We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Blu Wolf Bistro

Blu Wolf Bistro
Ranked #59 of 1,289 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was craving a cheeseburger and this did not disappoint! Definitely a cut above your average burger, with attentive service. Though it's more of a pub type setting, they had a decent wine selection. The fries were delicious too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollyRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    54
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ROCHESTER NY
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Terrific, relaxing casual dinner out...”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Went to BluWolf On impulse Saturday evening. No reservations, we were told about 30 min wait. We waited about 15 before the host found us at the bar. In the interim, we ran into several friends! Our server was Amanda W., absolutely outstanding, attentive, high energy. Offered some guidance about heat/spiciness of an appetizer. We had chips and trio dip app, salad w chicken (a bit chewy?), Berkeley burger w real onion rings. Beer selection excellent as well. Server very attentive, checking on us several times, personable and friendly. Will ask to be seated in her zone at next visit! Excellent stop tonight at a growing favorite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“four course dinner paired with beer”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was not a dinner more like a tasting. Thirty five dollars was way too much for five four oz. glasses of beer and food that was two bites each. We had to come home and eat dinner. A 20 oz beer there was six dollars normally. Food was good but certainly not worth $29. People who were there for a regular dinner got more food for a lot less. Very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

A very welcoming restaurant with a large bar area that looks great for an after work drink with friends.
Menu isn't daring and the execution is ok. Like many places, rare comes out med-rare and in this case a med-rare burger was med-well.
The bent arm fries are very tasty but have a coating that says they are not house made.
Would go back but not for any special occasion.

Helpful?
1 Thank JMWC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lot of workers but not a lot of workers attention”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

New place, good reviews, went on a Monday to miss the crowd.
Got a table quickly but did not get a server.
Seemed like a lot of people working including a manager type who never looked our way.
After a bit of a wait a server took our drink orders, brought water and informed us our server was very busy.....not a good sign when there were sections of tables with no customers and so ,presumably, less busy wait staff.
Our server did get to us and did do the job but never spoke to us or asked how we were making out.....etc.
So about the food, wings-big and perfectly cooked, burgers-excellent ground beef and toppings, side salad-fantastic!
Will we return? Maybe......but not soon

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Wolf Bistro also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Blu Wolf Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing