We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of workers but not a lot of workers attention”
Review of Blu Wolf Bistro

Blu Wolf Bistro
Ranked #57 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lot of workers but not a lot of workers attention”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

New place, good reviews, went on a Monday to miss the crowd.
Got a table quickly but did not get a server.
Seemed like a lot of people working including a manager type who never looked our way.
After a bit of a wait a server took our drink orders, brought water and informed us our server was very busy.....not a good sign when there were sections of tables with no customers and so ,presumably, less busy wait staff.
Our server did get to us and did do the job but never spoke to us or asked how we were making out.....etc.
So about the food, wings-big and perfectly cooked, burgers-excellent ground beef and toppings, side salad-fantastic!
Will we return? Maybe......but not soon

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    54
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
811 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Better Gourmet Burgers Elsewhere”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were in the mood for burgers and we knew this new hot spot specialized in burgers so we got a reservation for a Saturday night. Unfortunately the burgers, while many interesting choices, were just ok for the $15 price. There are better gourmet burgers around town for less. A burger place should be able to cook a burger to the doneness requested and the size was small for the price. The French onion soup was more successful with excellent gooey cheese. The beer prices were a bit on the high side. We will stop by again just to try the milkshakes - perhaps those will be great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fill up the wine glass!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food was OK but my big complaint is the wine glass was literally 1/4 full. $9 for a 1/4 glass of wine is a rip off. (Its a huge pet peeve of mine) I liked the atmosphere and our waiter was great- although they were out of 3 beers our party asked for and one of the menu items.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Delightful Delicious Salad”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I joined a friend for lunch at this new to me restaurant. We enjoyed our quiet booth, had good service by a very friendly server. We both chose salads which were delicious especially since they catered to our requests. Very nice menu selections.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrammaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awesome Paella!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The only drawback was it was very cold out and every time the door opened you could feel it. Our second visit they seemed to have this under control

I had the Mac and Cheese paella - I saw another person who had it and it just looked delish. It was MUCH better than expected. My wife had the pretzel encrusted chicken and she was disappointed at hoe dry the meat was Our second visit we tried the Wolf Bites - very tasty and I tried out the Park Ave burger - extremely good. My wife settled in on the Mac and Cheese and she was very happy with that.

Excellent selection on craft brews on tap - very good and knowledgeable bartenders. They seem to cater mostly to the younger Park Ave crowd but when we were there is was a mixed crown the second time.

Worth a THIRD VISIT!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Wolf Bistro also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Blu Wolf Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing