We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favorite”

Zemeta Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #109 of 1,294 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New favorite”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I adore this restaurant. The food is fantastic. The woman who runs the front of house is always smiling and remembers me every time I visit. I love the vegetarian buffet on Fridays and Saturdays.

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingSpangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something new for us”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had never had Ethiopian before, really enjoyed it. Small place, sparse but nice decorations. If you like spicy food, this is for you. Server was very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkW384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great food terrible service”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Their Ethiopian food is excellent. But plan on a long long wait and don't expect the order to be right. We ordered a meat combination and eventually the vegetarian combo came out. The waitress asked if we needed injera. Of course. It never came. But the vegetable plate was delicious. We had ordered 3 dishes for carry out and one of those was also wrong. The people at the next table had the same issues. It was a comedy of errors. But oddly the food was all so good it didn't really matter.
So my advice is go and enjoy whatever you get and just go with the flow. I think we were there over 2 hours for lunch today. So go when you've got some time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarilynUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The portion size, price, quality of the food and service were all wonderful.
The portions are very large so they can easily be shared.
A great place to try authentic Ethiopian food.
P

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarinet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ethiopian Food!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were looking for something different when my sister and I visited Rochester in early January. This restaurant looked like it would fill the bill. It lived up to our expectations. We thought that by arriving early about 5 PM seating would be no problem even tho it was a Saturday evening. Wrong! We took the last table that was not reserved. Of course it is not a large place. But our poor waitress really had to hustle to keep up and she did a great job!

After looking over the menu, I couldn't resist one of the lamb preparations and my sister opted for the vegetarian platter. Both were delicious, served with a yummy green salad and the traditional bread. The amount of lamb forced me to ask for a take-out container--it was plenty for two main courses for me. I did check out the buffet table ($9.95) and it all looked very appealing. Maybe next time I'm in Rochester!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zemeta Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Zemeta Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing