We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal”

Red Fedele's Brook House Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 1,280 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rochester, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Always look forward to a meal at the Brookhouse. Only prblem is because it is so good and popular, and they don't take reservations, you sometimes have to wait for a table. In the long run though, the wait is well worth it. Red himself is usually there to stop by your table and chat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    29
    19
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every time we've visited The Brook House, we been treated as friends insead of customers. The food is outstanding especially the Ala Fedele Baked Ziti. Your meal come with soup or salad, fresh italian bread, and the ziti is enougth for two to share, and always taken home for another delicious dinner. The owner or his son always comes by the table to greet you and ask how your meal was. Don't miss this restaurant if your visiting the Rochester area. Too bad they don't take reservations, but the time is worth the wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dnelson157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Expensive and not all that exciting”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have eaten here twice for holiday buffets, and once ordering from the menu. The buffets are average at best. The owner is very personable, and when he is around and about, he puts a redeeming spin on things. But "Food Mill" was a phrase I read in another review, and for mid $20's per head, including kids - I would expect more. Small salad, no real choice of dressing. Plastic cups for fruit scattered about. The bread was very good.

And then from the menu. Waited over an hour to be seated, and by then the crowd was dwindling so we might have expected good service. Nope.... Out of this,... what did you order?... only one steak left - who wants it? ---and then apologies galore but service was VERY slow. Menu notes something on the order of "please take the side dish that is offered". Just didn't seem like a place that caters to the customer, rather - let's not make it too difficult for the kitchen and wait staff. Based on the menu experience, I would have rated POOR, rather than average. Some family members swear by the place. I'd choose another.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nysq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a time honored place”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Have Been Going to Red's since I was a teenager lets just say I'm in my 40's now! we would Golf with Red and his wife back when Craig Hill Country club was around, then we would go over to his old place on Ridge Road which was ALWAYS packed! his new place which has been there for years is GREAT lots of room a nice Family run place with good food!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love Red's!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

You can't beat an italian restaurant that makes authentic italian dishes!!! When you want a great meal that reminds you of home cookin' come to reds. Reds is family run and when you go, you feel like family too. Nice bar area too towards the back of the restaurant which is rarely crowded, so even grabbing a drink and some apps at the bar is excellent!

Also very family friendly. Can take family and not have to worry about the kids being super quiet.

Enjoy the deck in the spring and summer and even live music! In the winter, seeing the Christmas display and lights is a must!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptivaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fedele's Brook House Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Red Fedele's Brook House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing