We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent upscale dining experience!”
Review of Avvino

Avvino
Ranked #78 of 1,280 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $15 - $42
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: AVVINO opened in 2013 serving contemporary American and worldly cuisine. Chef Tim Caschette's fiercely seasonal menu showcases the restaurant's bonds with local farmers and purveyors. Janine Wasley takes the beverage program very seriously offering a carefully chosen wine list with close to 200 selections and forever changing cocktail program also taking inspiration from seasonal offerings. The restaurant offers three dining experiences: The Main Dining Room, Meyer's Den and The Patio (seasona
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale dining experience!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We dined at Avvino with another couple last Friday evening. It was our first visit to this relatively new Brighton restaurant. We were seated immediately and greeted by our server. He had excellent suggestions and gladly accommodated special requests...which were few!

Our cocktails were expertly prepared...try the Hot and Filthy Martini...it's a winner!!!! The menu is excellent and there were a number of specials that gave us a broad selection. All of our orders were prepared perfectly. The service is efficient and pleasant.

By the time we were ready to leave, the place was very busy...the bar was full...which is nice to see on a cold January evening!

Avvino is a nice addition to the local dining scene!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHY438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to the Crowded Brighton/Pittsford Dining Scene”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We dined at AvVino the evening of Feb. 1, 2014. We first were exposed to AvVino at a private holiday party in a professional associates home as AvVino catered the entire affair. Based on that experience with the food and drinks we had to give them a try at the restaurant. What a great evening at dinner. We made a 8:00pm dinner reservation but arrived about 30 minutes early with every intention of having a cocktail at the before dinner to scope the place out and get an idea of the bar vibe. Alas our table was ready on arrival so we chose to skip the bar and be seated immediately. Jasmine was our server and she did a wonderful job all evening. Her timing was perfect, knowledgeable of the menu and even suggested a nice wine when our first selection wasn't available.

We began with a cosmopolitan for Mrs. SRCFan and I had one of their signature martinis a 'hot and dirty martini' which was an interesting take with a nice spice provided by siracha in the mix of the traditional dirty martini with two bleu cheese olives. I'll have another next time.

We then partook in the absolutely do die for fresh baked bread that was served piping hot out of the oven. This too is just delightful...no butter needed. Our appetizer/salad sequence was completed by sharing the slow roasted lamb meatballs and Mrs. SRCFan ordered the beet and goat cheese tourine. There were two meatballs and the lamb was very mild but just 'lamby' enough to give you that lamb rush. Mrs. SRCFan loved the beets salad...me not so much...I'm not a beet fan...but she loved it.

Onto dinner we both chose the rainbow trout special which was served as multiple thin fillets of trout, skin on, slightly charred, which provided a nice texture touch to the great entrée.

We found the atmosphere energetic, but not to the point where we couldn't comfortably converse with each other. Plenty of off street parking available in the lot in front of and behind the restaurant's mini store front.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant. An wonderful experience. Our coats were checked as we walked in. Seated immediately. Our server Jazmine was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. She knew the drinks and menu very well. Wonderful craft cocktails. Made great suggestions that were terrific. My wife had the shaved brussels sprout salad that was unique and delicious. Her salmon was perfectly cooked and was perfectly accompanied. I had the meatball appetizer and a pasta special with a delicious tomato sauce that was slightly spicy and perfect. Wonderful tiramisu and espresso. The only negative was that there was no herbal tea available. The ambience is cozy and not too noisy. Will be back again soon. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Handsrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkState
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try it you'll love it!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Avvino lives up to its great reputation in the Rochester area. Love the size of the restaurant, the friendly staff and owner, and the food! The food presentation was exceptional and although slightly pricey, was well worth it. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a new place to try or bring friends, and will definitely plan on a return myself.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellover34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avvino”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Janine has done a great job with this new restaurant. The restaurant opened this summer, but it has the feel of a NYC steakhouse that has been there forever. Each dish is unique and stimulates the palate. Food is exceptional. Fun bar and wait staff. Great wine list carefully picked by the owner. Must visit for Rochestarians and visitors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank iorifbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avvino also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Avvino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing