We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ Tasty Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abyssinia Restaurant

Abyssinia Restaurant
Ranked #246 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ Tasty Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I thought it would be fun and was open to a new idea. This was a novel experience in eating and taste. Be prepared for a different kind of spice - delicate but not mild. The atmosphere is good for family dining, too. A new favorite place.

Helpful?
Thank SBurke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly unique and delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is one of our family's favorite restaurants. We are so glad to have them back. Over the years we have tried a variety of items on the menu from meat to vegetarian. Our personal favorite, and the one we order most often, is the vegetarian dinner for four. We find the vegetarian dishes to be exceptionally delicious. The dinner includes a variety of vegetarian entries from chick peas, lentils, spinich, to collards. The flavors are strong and spicy, but in a good way. We have never been able to decide on a favorite, because they are all that good.

An important thing to note about the dinner combos, they come on a single platter for everyone to share. While this works well for our family, it may not be for everyone. Especially since you eat with your hands. And the service is not fast paced, and it takes time to eat with your hands, so don't go if you are in a hurry.

If you're looking for something different and have an adventurous spirit, give Abyssinia a try. We dont think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Ethiopian is back in Rochester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had lunch there a couple days ago, and it was as good as ever. We love the variety of flavors and choices of spicy or not spicy, meat or vegetarian, so everyone can be happy. We like ordering the combination plates so we get a lot of different tastes.

The new space is nice and bright, with pictures on the wall. Lots of easy parking in the lot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“so glad Abyssinia isback”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A really excellent Ethiopian restaurant. People are so nice even if service is slow. Certainly best Ethiopian food in New York including NYC. SO GLAD to know they have reopened in a new location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarilynUtica_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Abyssinia's is back!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant is a fine example of home made Ethiopian cuisine. It is fresh, tasty and beautifully prepared. A new location and proximity to college town is a smart move. Very reasonably priced for the quality. We have experienced Ethiopian cuisine in other cities and they just don't compare. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finglerlakes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Abyssinia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing