We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent size and fresh subs”

DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines
Ranked #8 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent size and fresh subs”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The restaurant has pretty good subs - decent size and fresh rolls. One large and one medium sub is enough to share for a party of four. We look forward to visit the restaurant again in the future!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hurricane111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    59
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good subs”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very good place for fresh subs made fast and however you like. There are a lot of choices for fillings and toppings. The rolls are excellent and fresh. Service is friendly and efficient. A great value and very good quality ingredients.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Go-To Place for Soup, Sandwhiches and Salad”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have been here three times since moving back to Rochester and this has fast become a family favorite. They offer a variety of flavorful cold and hot subs and sandwiches, artisan soups and creative salads. I am THAT person who always looks for the soup/salad/sandwich combo on the menu so this place is right up my alley. The salads are HUGE and very well done. The soups are extremely delicious, seasoned well with herbs. My only complaint is that each time I have been there, there has only been cream based soups, but that hasn't stopped me from ordering them. The tomato bisque and lobster bisque were both fantastic. They make their own bread, which is the most important part of a sandwich, so those get a thumbs up too. Love, love, love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A family favorite”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our family has been buying their subs for many years. We are always happy with the food and service. The place is clean, well staffed and they bake their own sub rolls which are the best. The lunch hour usually has a long line but it goes fairly quickly since they have enough people for rush hours. The shape of the sub roll will fool you. At first glance when they lay the roll on the work counter it looks like it won't hold much. But then when you open the wrapper there is this sub loaded with you choice of meat and topped with fresh ingredients. They have thet subs in the Rochester area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent subs and salads”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with my freshly made salad that was made right away. Huge variety of fresh veggies for a great value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Returns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing