We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home”

DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines
Ranked #8 of 1,294 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My home away from home”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We're here every day for lunch. For $10, I get a sub, chips and bottle of pop. About 8 smiles on the way to my table and a pleasant time. Can't go wrong!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    59
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ROCHESTER
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing but the best.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Their subs have always been top notch. Been going there for over 10 years. Home baked bread and the freshest meats, with lots of various combinations, dressing and toppings. Never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank ROSE Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best subs ever!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I normally do not eat at chains; however, a friend served these for dinner one night. This is absolutely the best sub. It is loaded with meat/cheese, and the choices for add-ons are endless. Additionally, the staff is helpful and courteous. They never appear rushed, but they never stopped moving! This is the DiBella's in Tops Plaza on S. Clinton.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edward03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Subs the way they should be!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Remember subs/hoagies from the days before Subway? You will feel like you walked into an old grocery store where subs came on fresh bakery rolls and had lots of meat and cheese and whatever you want inside. At DiBella's, you also get the smell of baking chocolate chip cookies as you place your order! Don't hesitate, get the cookie too. MMMM!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 451mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Subs”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As a classic sub restaurant, you aren't going to find better than this anywhere. Its ruined me from all of the national chains, as there is nothing in the category as good as a Dibellas sub. The bread is delicious, the meats are great, and the service is always friendly. I have twice had staff members take extra time (in one instance coming in early) to meet a sandwich tray catering request and they offered suggestions I hadn't thought about in terms of packaging to make things easier. My only complaint is that there aren't any in North Carolina. Look me up if you want to franchise in this state Dibellas--I"m in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to DiBella's Old Fashioned Submarines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing