We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese since China Gate closed”
Review of Chen Garden

Chen Garden
Ranked #108 of 1,471 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family has been searching for a Chinese restaurant to replace (our favorite) China Gate in Henrietta which closed a few years ago. We are pleased to say that Chen Garden has filled the bill admirably!
There is nothing like a good Chinese sit-down restaurant. Take-out is convenient and everywhere, but good Chinese eat-in is rare. Example: popular sesame chicken take-out is always a bit soft & mushy. Chen Garden's sesame was crispy and flavorful to the max! We also ordered scallops & shrimp in garlic sauce. Many restaurants serve small, sliced scallops-NOT Chen Garden! The portions were generous and the taste was authentic.
We brought our young granddaughter and the staff made her feel special. We enjoyed the experience and our search for great eat-in Chinese is over!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myvette48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was surprised; this must be a little known place, because it’s tucked between two other stores at a small shopping strip (about 7 stores in all). But once inside everything changes, first, the place is larger than it appears from the outside. Second, the first thing is a good thing because gets crowded, the reason why for the last two things is the food. When its crowded, service becomes slow, but that understandable. I had the shrimp spring rolls, pepper spinach and shrimp, home specialty, and the top shelve drinks are reasonably priced too. I will return!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveE944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Good food. Great service! Highly recommend. Seated immediately after making reservations. Our server was quick to approach our table. Huge menu. Too many decisions. Our server was quick to make suggestions. Prices were right.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Crazydaisy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are regulars at Chen Gardens. The service is fast and the food wholesome. We especially like the brown rice tofu and vegetable combination. The owner is on duty and attentive to our needs. ...and the price...a steal !

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Chen Garden is a long time favorite of my family. It has an extensive menu and a large following of loyal customers of all ethnic origins. There is usually a line at popular dinner times - always a good sign unless you are in a hurry.

Given we're long time customers, one wish is to see a few new dishes. For example, perhaps some of the Chinese New Year specials can be made permanent.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ACMMM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chen Garden also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Chen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing