We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son's rehearsal dinner was terrible”

Keenan's Restaurant
Ranked #310 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lancaster, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Son's rehearsal dinner was terrible”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

They put us in such a small room that the staff was bumping into each other. Dumped a tray of full water glasses on my husband and nephew, glasses shattered all over the floor! They also spilled salad dressing on my husbands arm. They were very disorganized as far as bringing food out, they had no idea who ordered what and had to ask at each table who ordered each meal they brought out. When we walked out to the bar, we noticed a second level that was much larger than the tiny room they crammed us in to, with only about 3 full tables of people! Considering that we spent almost $1400.00, and they knew how many people were expected, they should have planned ahead!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anytram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    20
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ROCHESTER NY
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Another good stop at a solid 'family' restaurant.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Recent visit for family event. Good food. Jim and Sue continue to deliver a setting with dependably good, well served dinner and special events. Single bartender at 6pm rush was overmatched, bar service improved when one of the waitstaff became available to deal with drink orders. Try the beans n greens.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

While visiting Rochester for a concert we asked a desk clerk for a good local place to eat that would not break the budget. Wtihout hesitation he recommended Keenan's a local restaurant that has been in business for over 25 years. We found the place located in the west end of a strip plaza so we initially were sceptical of the clerds advice. Boy were we wrong. The setting was very pleasant, the food was terrific, and the service was some of the friendliest and most efficient we have encountered in quite a while, I started with their seafood bisque which was chocked full of delicious seafood and tasted even better than it looked. The salad was OK, nothing unusual. My entre was their steak and cakes which was an 8 oz. strip accomapnied by two crab cakes all on a light pool of remoulade sauce. While not the biggest strip steak I have had, it was tender and tasted great, The crab cakes were a nice addition and smacked of somthing that might be fond at the Inner Harbor in Baltimore. Our server was very efficient and very friendly. The menue is quite varied and offers just about something for everyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wetsu6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Salty Food!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have eaten here before, service is good and a convenient location to gather, casual atmosphere. Menu is wonderful with a great variety at reasonable prices. One complaint which applies to the last couple times we have been there - Some food is seasoned way too heavily with salt - beef barley soup almost inedible and the fish also had too much salt. Some of the others had salads which were not a problem, and very good. But on the soups and who knows what other items, the chef needs to cut the salt - if I need more i can always use the shaker. Salt not good for high blood pressure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrammaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Keenan's is a middle of the road all around predictably good place to eat”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We've patronized Keenan's for many years, watching it move and expand, and yet keep that community ambiance that makes it a neighborhood favorite. Their salads are large and fresh, with delicious additives to order; entrees are fairly predictable but well presented. Their Friday Fish Fry is legendary and hangs over the edge of the plate, a very good value.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artistgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keenan's Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Keenan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing