We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Avenue Pub & Restaurant

Park Avenue Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, French, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine Wine . Steak . Seafood . Pasta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Delicious food - excellent service and very friendly staff. They wait on you hand and foot. The menu is very unique - every dish is delicious!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    34
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice terrace dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit Rochester NY for an overnite stay. When we asked where the best places to dine are we were told Park Avenue so we ventured there. It was a nice street with lovely restaurants all with little patios. We chose the Park Avenue Restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. The waiter was a little on the odd side and was not as familiar with the menu as he should have been but the food was good, reasonably priced with a nice atmosphere. They gave us a nice table on the patio (which is directly on the sidewalk and pretty small). I ordered what I thought was pasta with garlic aioli but ended up with a light tomato sauce. This was where the waiter came in as somewhat inexperienced. However my husband had the prosciutto wrapped chicken breast and claims its one of the best meals he's ever had.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A nice place to spend an evening with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Where do you go to find a place to catch up with friends where you can talk without straining, eat very tasty food and wash it all down with well-made drinks?

I'd suggest, if you are in Rochester, to look here.

We met friends for dinner and were able to enjoy the subtle ambiance without the pressure of an overly-attentive front of house staff. Pacing was perfect, perhaps because we looked to be heading towards an evening without time pressures, but other tables moved in and out much faster (so I know the kitchen can perform quickly!).

We were very satisfied with everything ordered - except the sauteed mushroom appetizer. It arrived so soon after ordering that our thoughts turned to re-heating. Suspicions were confirmed - though flavorful, the mushrooms did not have a freshly sauteed texture.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jesorrell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best in Rochester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went here for the first time recently for my boyfriend's birthday. They were polite, professional and welcoming. We've ate at some of the best restaurants in NYC and this topped them all. The risotto and crab cakes were absolutely amazing. We didn't leave a spot on the plate. The entrees and even the bread were delicious. We can't believe we haven't been here before and will most definitely be going back. The owner was present and attentive. He always made sure the water glasses were full and that we were satisfied with our food. The meal is a little more expensive than other restaurants in Rochester, but is worth every single penny. We left with a full stomach and huge smiles on our faces.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SaireD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I have eaten here several times now and the food and service is always excellent. Great choice of wines as well.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMidolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Avenue Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Park Avenue Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing