We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying New Places”

The Brighton Restaurant
Ranked #652 of 1,280 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trying New Places”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went to the Brighton with my wife, as we are trying different restaurants. We had visited the Brighton 30 years ago, and wanted to go again. We were greeted promptly, and given a choice of table or booth. We chose a booth, and were seated immediately. Our waiter, Aaron, arrived promptly, and took our order, as we did not wish bar service. My wife chose the Shrimp Scampi, and was very pleased. The garlic was not overpowering, the shrimp were large, and the mashed potatoes were real, home made mashed potatoes. I chose the French Onion Soup, and Wiener Schnitzel. The soup was hot, the cheese, croutons and onions were plentiful. The cheese was not so hot as to blister my mouth. The Wiener Schnitzel was perfectly prepared, and served with spaetzle like my mother used to make! A great meal at a reasonable price! The Brighton goes on our list of repeat visit restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
785 reviews
458 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Slow Service Counters Very Good Food”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I had not been here in a few years so joined some friends who are semi-regulars. I was surprised at how good the food was - the salmon, the shrimp scampi, and the wiener schnitzel were all tasty and came with salads, which is rare these days. Unfortunately the service was very slow - the staff was friendly and apologetic but it did not make up for the long wait for drinks, the food, the bread, etc. The food was good enough to give it another try....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Good All Around”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my second visit to the Brighton in as many years. We were in Rochester visiting family and enjoyed the newly renovated space and revamped menu. Our server, Ben, was quite charming and efficient. We had a chance to sit in the bar and sample the cocktail menu and my martini with giant olives was spot on. For dinner we chose a variety of items, pasta, meatloaf and I opted for the seared tuna special. We all enjoyed our entrees and would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erinontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a visit/Under new management, recently renovated”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place was a favorite of mine when I lived in Rochester. Always enjoyed the bar and the menu here. They make a great martini and their menu options have plenty of comfort food choices and old favorites. Hard to find in an old yellow house, just by the 401 Freeway, off Winton Road, on
East Avenue. Parking was difficult, but that was because the larger lot was closed for resurfacing.
I would not take the kids here, but up to you. Try the place for lunch or Happy Hour
first. Dinner can get pricey, but I have eaten well here in former years. My last visit was for drinks and appetizers only, nice and tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savvygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
1 review
“disappointed”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Decided to try the brighton for my husband's b-day service was great. Food was bad I gave my husband my food I had veal and it was fatty poor quality meat. Very disappointed in the food even my daughter couldnt eat hers. $85.00 for a meal I didnt eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brighton Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Brighton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing