We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Light Fare”

Nathan's Soup & Salad
Ranked #199 of 1,266 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Light Fare”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Homemade soups every day and fresh salads are this establishment's "bread and butter"! Recent renovations may have supplied seating; until this year, Nathan's has been known as a high quality take-out restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

How I wish this was a sit-down restaurant with parking, because this is a fantastic place to get lunch. Their soups are delicious and fresh (they have great chilled soups in the summer). Their croissant sandwiches are PHENOMENAL! Especially the chicken salad with banana, which sounded strange to me at first but I am hooked. Try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE place for soup”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

specials for each day of the week along with regular soups.
Always tasty. Try the cheese bread with your soup. Its great

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good soup”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The soup tasted like it was homemade and very fresh. I also had a chicken with walnuts and grapes sandwich on a croissant which was awesome! They change the soup choices daily. The person who waited on us was very friendly and fast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't beat their soup!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

With 2 locations in Rochester, I have only dined at the Jefferson Road location. I cannot speak for all their menu items as I go exclusively for the soup, but if they soup quality is any indication, the rest has to be equally outstanding!!! The soups, both daily and special offerings, are always delicious, hearty, and homemade!

Thanks for making lunch something to look forward to!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptivaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathan's Soup & Salad also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nathan's Soup & Salad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing