We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good soup” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nathan's Soup & Salad

Nathan's Soup & Salad
Ranked #182 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Rochester New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The soup tasted like it was homemade and very fresh. I also had a chicken with walnuts and grapes sandwich on a croissant which was awesome! They change the soup choices daily. The person who waited on us was very friendly and fast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't beat their soup!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

With 2 locations in Rochester, I have only dined at the Jefferson Road location. I cannot speak for all their menu items as I go exclusively for the soup, but if they soup quality is any indication, the rest has to be equally outstanding!!! The soups, both daily and special offerings, are always delicious, hearty, and homemade!

Thanks for making lunch something to look forward to!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptivaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great little place for terrific soup. Choices change daily. Fresh baked breads are always available. One of my favorite places for a quick lunch (mainly take out - summer outdoor seating only)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

After an exhausting morning of shopping my son and I stopped into Nathan's at the Regional Market for a quick lunch. We were waited on quickly at the counter and our meals were ready almost instantly. My vegetarian minestrone was rather a disappointment with tons of celery but only 2, yes, 2 cannelini beans. My son really enjoyed his lobster bisque and chicken sandwich. One thing that really turned me off was that the same person preparing our meal also took our money wearing her plastic gloves the whole time. I kept wondering if she put on new ones before making the next customer's sandwich (I doubt it).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jawlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a sure bet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been going here for more than 15 years. The cheese bread has to be made in heaven! I have never had a bad meal from here. I also buy the frozen soups to take home. Only wish they were open for dinner.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathan's Soup & Salad also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Nathan's Soup & Salad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing