We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican”

Salena's Mexican Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Salena's Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 1,274 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We enjoyed the broad selection of menu items. The restaurant atmosphere is bold with color and dark, since you are kind of underground. The variety of items we tried were good and flavorful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    53
    32
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best of Jim Hendrix for lunch music? Really?”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

While visiting Rochester I decided to check out Salena's for some Mexican lunch. Parking was hard to find, and then I had trouble finding the entrance. It was very dark inside, and not cozy-dark, just dark. On the bright side, my waitress was very nice. The complimentary chips and salsa were great. The combo beef taco and cheese enchilada was very good, but the sides of rice and beans were pretty tasteless. Beer was reasonable at $3. The most irritating thing about the lunch was that Jimmy Hendrix was playing non-stop the entire time. How about some Mexican tunes or even some Holiday tunes? It is December!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnieH440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't stop eating. So Good.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I LOVE this food. Mexican flag is my go-to dinner, but I like to switch it up periodically. Really who am I kidding, anything with white sauce is da bomb. Pair that up with a Herradura Repo marg or the house Agave Ale and I am good to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmDeeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Located in the heart of Village Gate, Salena's is the place in Rochester for Mexican food and margaritas. Great, converted old factory atmosphere and good service. If it is your first time visiting, be sure to ask your server questions & for suggestions about the menu!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Salena's Mexican”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

In the mood for Mexican food...and a margarita..?? Salena's is the place. Nestled in the entertainment hub of the the Village Gate...Salena's make ROC's best margaritas.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdgiordano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salena's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Salena's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing