We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but friendly sushu joint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plum House

Plum House
Ranked #272 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,869 reviews
1,888 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 861 helpful votes
“Small but friendly sushu joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Plum House is a local staple in the food scene of Monroe Avenue. It is, first and foremost, a sushi house, although you can order from amongst a variety of other entrees, including a bunch of noodle (udon) bowls that look good but are a bit on the bland side for me.

The sushi bar in this place is right by the front door, and you can watch your meal being prepared as you wait. (The tables are too far from the front door either...neither is anything else, as this place is quite small.) Plum House is a nice place with good food and reasonable prices, although I'd recommend it for lunch more than I would for dinner. Parking can be a problem, so be prepared to walk a few blocks if you arrive during lunch or dinner hour.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient, Authentic Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I can walk to Plum House, so we go fairly regularly. We aren't really into the "trendy" sushi experience, so Plum House is perfect for us. I like it better than Piranha Sushi on Park Ave.

The sushi chefs are right there as you walk in the door, and greet you, which is nice. Having lived in Japan for a short time, I find their menu to be authentic. I recommend the seaweed salad, any of the sushi, and the chicken oyakodon, which is delicious. The prices are great, and we've never been disappointed in anything we've ordered.

The only thing I don't like is how they have squeezed about 5 or 6 two-tops in at the front, in a row, with only about a foot between. Since there's no music, it's like everyone can hear what you're saying. We have gotten to where we request a 4-top just so we don't have to feel awkward.

Overall, though, it's a great low-key place to get sushi on a week night. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank manek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“nice, friendly dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The restaurant is small but very friendly. The staff greeted us as soon as we walked in. We ordered the sushi for two and the dinner came with soup and salad which were both very good. The sushi came very quickly for as busy as they were. The presentaion of the plate was very creative. The flavor was good but not the best we have had, we would go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The maki dinner is big and good for two.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I had maki dinner and it came with philadelphia roll (which I like most among the 3), spicy tuna roll and california roll. It was served with miso soup and salad. The maki were good and well made. We arrived early and the place was almost full when we left. My friend had tempura dinner and I tried her brocolli and zuchini tempura, they were cooked right and very crispy and tasty. This Japanese restaurant is worth a try. Sever is attentive but with a lot of clients, it was difficult for her to keep track of our drinks and had to remind her to fill our glasses. Parking may be difficult as it shares with Starbucks. But there are lots of street parking available.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moistfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate N.Y.
Level Contributor
254 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“King's Wok on most any corner would have provided a more flavorful meal.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I love Japanese food. But not from this place, I was greeted by a hostess who really didn't act like she was pleased to be bothered, and some strange odor I couldn't identify. The server was prompt, attentive, and friendly. I ordered a reasonably good fresh spring roll, overly salty miso soup, a very boring avacado salad {slices of avacado on iceberg lettuce with gingerless bland dressing} and a plate of beef nagamaki {spelling?} which may have been steakums rolled around scallions. I guess I have been spoiled by the Sakura in Canandaigua, but the reality is eating at the corner wokery would have been more satisfying.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swampknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plum House also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Plum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing