We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Deserts!”
Review of Phillips European

Phillips European
Ranked #3 of 34 Dessert in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Groveland, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Deserts!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

OMG - Phillips has the most amazing deserts I've had with lot's of variety. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place! Personally, not a huge fan of their dining cuisine, but who needs to eat dinner when you can just go for desert

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    69
    29
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A Favorite for Decades and for Good Reason”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have taken groups here, had family gatherings and gone for special occasions as a couple. The service, presentation and food are always excellent. They have a full bar, a nice selection of wines and a variety of food on their menu...and their deserts are to die for!!!! Coupled with very reasonable prices and a pleasant atmosphere where you can have a conversation, it is always a great choice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
219 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really good food and great service!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Came here with relatives for a nice lunch. Very nice atmosphere and if you make it past the pastry display you are a strong person. Their cakes are gorgeous and delicious too so bear that in mind when you order!
I had a Reuben that was served open faced and really tasty. My husband had the pesto chicken and loved it and his sister had a turkey wrap and took 1/2 home. Our server was Janet and her niece Jennifer works here too and they were both delightful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walworth
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A great place for everything, especially desert.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped in a Thursday evening, without a reservation, and were lucky enough to be seated immediately. A nice cozy corner table in the back room where it was nice a toasty. There was a decent crowd for early evening but background noise was not that bad, very comfortable atmosphere.
Server was prompt to welcome us, take drink orders, present menus and go over specials of the evening. Menu selection is very nice, full range of poultry, beef, pork, veal and seafood dishes to select from.
Dinner salads are a nice size, we recommend the Mediterranean; dressing is tasty but not overpowering and just the right amount of Feta.
Dinner servings are substantial. I ordered a petite serving, to go with my salad, and it was a normal portion at many other establishments. Food was very tasty and not over spiced. Meal was enjoyable and no left overs! Server checked on us throughout the meal to make sure we were set with water, bread, etc.
They have a nice wine list, we enjoyed a nice New York Reislling which complimented our meal very nicely.
Desert fans will love Philips, their desert menu is a s big as their meal menu. We both ordered desert to go as the meal was so filling that we needed some recovery time.
We were lucky to get in without reservations, Phillips is very popular, especially on the weekend. We were just lucky to visit on a weeknight. We wil go back, it was very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's all about dessert”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Dessert is the best thing about this restaurant, and I would recommend going there for the desserts alone. They have a huge selection of cakes and tortes, all displayed in a huge glass case in the front of the restaurant. I had the vanilla cheesecake, and it was hands down the best cheesecake that I've ever had (and i make a pretty good cheesecake myself). Very tasty, light, and just a dusting of graham cracker cumbs underneath. The restaurant is quiet, and the decor is classic (crystal sconces, wallpaper, lace curtains). The wooden chairs are a bit worn, and I would suggest that they lose the many neon signs in their windows. We also ate dinner there. They have a selection of classic dishes such as Escargots, Shrimp Cocktail, Steak Diane, Steak au Poivre, Veal Marsala, etc. The menu definitely appeals to an older crowd, we were the youngest people in the restaurant (30's-40's). They also have a surprisingly good selection of vegetarian entrees. I had one of the specials - Sole French. The fish was cooked perfectly, although I thought there was too much batter. Personally, I'd skip the food the next time and go straight for dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneJetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips European also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phillips European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing