We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Phillips European

Phillips European
Ranked #3 of 33 Dessert in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Simply the best restaurant in Rochester, the entrees are incredible only to followed by sumptuous desserts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    70
    29
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Delicious food, gracious prompt service, good ambiance - what else do you need?”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Celebrated a birthday with dinner and dessert at Phillips. Hadn't visited them in a long time, and it was great to revisit a Rochester staple. All was excellent - food and cocktails were delicious, service great, and lovely atmosphere. We really enjoyed "dining" vs. just grabbing a meal somewhere. And the desserts - oh yea! Can't be beat! Will have to kick up the exercise routine, drink water and eat crackers to offset this fabulous calorie intake, but it was worth it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snert41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best overall dessert diversity in town”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food is meh, but the desserts are worth coming again and again. Great for a group outing for dessert and drinks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank agcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Desserts were the draw”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Entrees weren't that great; chicken dijon was more like chicken mustard soup. However, the Bailey's cake and tiramisu cake were very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank momeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Desserts”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We don't go here often, as it is a little pricey for us. We are a bit on the frugal side though. However, for a special occasion, or if we just feel like having a fantastic dessert to satisfy our sweet tooth, this is our favorite place. Besides the amazing desserts in their dessert coolers that stare at you as you enter, they have a very good menu and the food is excellent. This is not what I would call expensive, just more than what we would normally go for.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips European also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phillips European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing