We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great desserts”
Review of Phillips European

Phillips European
Ranked #3 of 34 Dessert in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great desserts”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

They have the best desserts in town. You can go in and just order a few slices of cake and bring them home. Not cheap but the desserts are good portions and quite rich. You can easily share each piece and not feel cheated.

Helpful?
Thank ladyhawkarmymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    70
    29
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
811 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Just desserts”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

As others have pointed out the strength here is dessert which is absolutely true. It has been a few years since our last visit and now we remember why - the food is just ok esp. for the price. Nothing special unlike the desserts which are excellent. The chicken french was good but unremarkable as was the poached salmon despite the vodka brie sauce. The seafood bisque was tasty though a bit overly thickened. Finally if your looking for a place with a young energetic vibe this is not the place, that is, the crowd is heavy on seniors.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner? BUT defenitly DESSERT”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I had dinner there once and I think I just made a poor meal selection and we less then impressed, HOWEVER dessert there never leaves me underwhelmed!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelYesPlease30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Solid food, great desserts, a bit pricey for quality of main entrees”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Overall, I thought the food was quite good. Go here for the desserts, I kid you not. Eat light during the entree. The salads and soups were good, I would rate the Tournedos as good to very good. I tried the German Chocolate Cake, the Austrian Torte, and both were very, very good. Cost for 3 adults, 3 kids was 270 dollars (no bottles of wine, just by the glass). I'd say the cost was a bit high for the main dish, but was happy to pay that for the desserts.
Service was very good, timed right, food served hot. The atmosphere is disconcerting from the outside as it's in a strip mall, but when you get in, it's a very large restaurant serving good Italian and continental cuisine.
Last but not least, no kids menu, but they were more than accommodating, which I sincerely appreciated for my 8 year old.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nawlins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service, great dessert”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I had a delicious meal there. I had one of the specials...sole and scallop "French" (as they say in Rochester). It was delicious. Even the vegetable sides were great. My friend had chicken frennch which she also liked. We were both too full for dessert, so we brought them home for later. My fruit tart was delicious. The German chocolate cake promises to be just as tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Jordianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips European also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Phillips European? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing