We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ food”
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good BBQ food”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Service was slow but the food was tasty. I tried the sampler platter which included brisket and chicken and both were great. However Dinosaur is not a quiet place

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uvarobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    557
    149
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Once again we had a great meal at the Dinosaur BBQ. We tried to get in at 6pm on Saturday night but there was a wait of 1 to 1.5 hours. (We were told it can be much longer!) As much as we love the food we decided to come back on Sunday for lunch when it was much less crowded. The staff are all friendly and the food is amazing. This is a regular stop for us when in Rochester.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great BBQ In Rochester - Who Expects That?”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

No, not the Carolinas, or Texas, or Memphis - though they all have earned their bragging rights. This wonderful BBQ restaurant is right in Rochester New York! As you approach the Dinosaur you can smell the aroma from the smokers - even if you aren't hungry that is a most glorious fragrance! (we have other bbq restaurants in town that don't even have smokers - I don't even know how that works).
The atmosphere is very casual, motorcycle riders sit next to lawyers, families, blue collar workers and local politicians - they all eat here. The food is delicious - fall off the bone ribs, pulled pork sandwiches, great sides as well. Also live music in the bar & a respectable beer selection.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

There are several locally owned BBQ restaurants here but by far Dinosaur BBQ is the one I prefer. There is always a wait if you eat in so we often order carry-out when coming to Dinosaur. Parking is on the street which can be a disadvantage for some, plan a walk anytime you are coming down to eat here. But be prepared for the best BBQ and side dishes. I can't think of anything I hate but my favorites are the pulled pork with sides plate. The macaroni salad is spicy, which I really like.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mushroomhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“Not like the old days”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Portions getting smaller and smaller, including even the draft beer glasses. Food is now average instead of unique. Plenty of better places in Rochester nowadays for ribs, pulled pork etc.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing