We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta love honest good food and value”
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,272 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You gotta love honest good food and value”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place was jumping when we ate there....on a Tuesday night. Enough said. Honest to goodness value and good, very tasty food served with a bit an attitude that befits the place. It is like a biker joint, but everyone is welcome. Really liked it and happily paid the modes check at the end!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank golfrunner800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    546
    144
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was better on a previous trip”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have been to this location before, and the food was amazing. This visit was not so good. We sat outside, which is near the waiting area, so we were subject to the motorbikes coming and going, and all the other people crowding our eating space. The sides were piping hot, yet the meat was warm, and almost cold. The price can't be beat for the portion sizes. I will visit again, as I am sure every restaurant has its "off" nights.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonniesppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ever!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My BF and I were lucky enough to hear about this place while on a trip to Rochester. We were able to finally stop by in on our way out of town on a Wednesday afternoon when it wasn't too busy. We sat in the bar and were served by a very friendlyand professional bartender (Renee) - she recommended the Carolina Pulled Pork sandwich and then mentioned the award-winning mac n'cheese which we had to try. Wow - the best BBQ I think I've ever had - the flavor was truly memorable. Mac n'cheese was also wonderful. Plus, the atmosphere was right up our alley. I hope to be back in NY so I can visit again! Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VerySatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“terrific place for food and entertainment”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great barbeque (brisket, chicken, ribs and sides). My group is still talking about it and we've eaten in dozens of barbeque spots all over north america. May be the best mac and cheese I've ever had. Good selection of beers and live entertainment on a Saturday night. Kitchen was open until 1AM.

Way better than I was expecting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had to see what they hype was all about. 1 and done for me. The food was average at best. Still can't figure out why people think this place is so fabulous?!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristyLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing