We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions - good BBQ”
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,280 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
GlobalTraveler
Level Contributor
222 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Big portions - good BBQ”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't expecting much given NY isn't exactly a BBQ hotspot. Visited twice - ribs were excellent ($15 for half-rack with two sides). Very meaty so ignore temptation to go next larger portion. Nice smoke ring and bark. Sides are good sized too. Mac and Cheese was good, as we're mashed potatoes. Another visit, had pulled pork which was okay ($15 with two sides). Not as smokey as I hoped for - good but I would stick with the ribs. Friends really like the "fancy" fried green tomatoes ($8 for larger order suitable for sharing).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seaskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,091
    553
    149
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
syracuse, ny USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and dependably good food!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

being from syracuse, we knew what to expect on the menu. there is something for everyone, and the food is excellent. we had a nice dinner and enjoyed a band when we finished. the staff is not quite as raw and fun as the syracuse birthplace, but we had a fun experience none-the-less.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacki_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Prices”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Place is Great!

The pulled pork is wonderful. Theyslow cook everything on their premises and do it well. We have tried the sameplace in Troy New York and it is not a good as this one in Rochester. The chicken and ribs is good, too. The outstanding side dishes are the mac and cheese and chili. Their corn bread is very good too.

The portions are adequate and fair for the price. The service is very good. There is usually a wait to get in but it well worth it. We always have a meal here when we visit my daughter at RIT.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must when in Rochester”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

When we visit Rochester, we always make a stop at Dinosaur (usually for take out as there is always a line up for tables). Their food is delicious! Our favourites,in order are, mac and cheese, chicken, and brisket.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTrekker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“eveything is great here!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I really like every dish here and ive been here several times and tried everything on the menu. my favorites are to start with the fried green pickles! then the beef brisket and i love all the side but my 2 favorites are the cajon corn and black bean with rice. cant beat the atmosphere here and the live music. although there is always a wait its well worth it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jlock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing