We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge atmosphere matches the Huge selection!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Huge atmosphere matches the Huge selection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Dinosaur BBQ in downtown Rochester is a great place for ribs, pulled pork, chicken and so much more. Very healthy portions, great drink selection and superb flavor.

Many 'famous' hor sauce flavors to enhance your BBQ. The sides are classic hardy choices and all well done - from cajun corn (yum) ro coleslaw to beans and more.

Took 4 work folks for lunch and cost was $80 - service was great and tending to our 2 diet restrictive friends was thorough and caring.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    531
    143
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent barbeque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food was amazing. I had the half chicken. Don't miss the mac and cheese. Service was great. Good time and good food. Priced right.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2heartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best soup in the entire world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I love this restaurant ... I live 3 hours away, so I don't get to visit often, but I have been there twice, and I dream about the beer and cheddar soup because it is soooo delicious.

You get tons of food to eat, and all of it tastes amazing. You can smell the BBQ before you even reach the restaurant, and its in a very cool building with a great view outside. I am getting hungry just writing this review. Do NOT skip this restaurant on your next trip to Rochester, I know I won't!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling_gal00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No so good, even for Northern BBQ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Someone headlined 'Not bad for Northern BBQ.'. I would drop it down a notch.
It's like the "Asian" restaurants in ROC.. Only as good as necessary to please the ROC palette.
While not an expert in BBQ and a 'northerner to boot, the food here was nothing, anywhere near like the real deal(s) in KC, Memphis, Austin, Hemingway, SC. and on and on..Even a couple places in NYC... I have a friend who 'smokes his own', so to speak, much better. But I can't give his name away. :>))

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Historic Building with a View and Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This building is historic and has a great view of the falls in Rochester. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. The service was friendly and prompt. I had a salad with the barbeque chicken and my husband had ribs. Very tasty.

The only difficulty is the parking, as this is a very popular spot. The easiest thing is to go to the parking garage just up the street and park there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DuchessofRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing