We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning BBQ - A highlight of our US trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dinosaur Bar-B-Que

Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,269 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning BBQ - A highlight of our US trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Put simply, this was the best restaurant meal I have had. I opted for the full rack of ribs...a monster of a dish, but one which was a succulent joy to eat. Combine this with excellent service, great vibe, wonderful range of IPA beers, and a setting which overlooks the Genesee this is one place you have to visit. Shame it's 3,500mi from home for me!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dafinchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,062
    541
    144
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best BBQ anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Took my son and six of his buddies to celebrate his 21st birthday on a Friday night. Good thing we had a reservation - the place was packed. We sat at a high table in the bar area and everything was great - the food, service, atmosphere. The best ribs I ever ate. It will be hard to have ribs anyplace else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WallyMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad for northern bar-b-que!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

First, it is known as a biker bar, but there were few bikers there on Saturday night, bhter was a longer than 1 hour wait to be seated. The personnel were great and the service incredible considering the number of people being served. I ordered a full rack of ribs, which was tender and juicy, however, being a Memphis bar-b-que person, I did not like their sauce, which was a bit flat and not sweet at all, so I ate the ribs dry. Also, if you are looking for a quiet place to ear, forget about it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent barbecue, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Visited here on a Saturday at noon. We were seated right away, and settled in to look over the menu. it is so hard to choose since everything sounds delicious. We all ended up with the traditional sampler for the adults and one children's meal, chicken slider. There is a wide choice of sides, and they even had a few special sides not on the menu. Service was great, the waitress very pleasant and helpful. The food came quickly and we chowed down. The ribs were tender, the brisket was NOT dry, as it can be at other places. We needed a few boxes for the portions we could not eat, and had them the next day. Overall, this place is great. Nice atmosphere, good food, just a fun time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliemae2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ - Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great BBQ, drinks and location. Tends to be very crowded towards the weekend, so sit at the bar, have a drink & be patient. I love Dinosaur BBQ sauce so much I buy it at my local market. The BBQ Brisket melts in your mouth...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HammerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Bar-B-Que also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing