We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised and Delighted”

The Distillery Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 1,269 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Surprised and Delighted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited after many, many times going by this place and having dined at the two other of their locations in the Rochester area. Mt Hope location stood out by the treatment received from the staff and the quality of food and drinks. Bar tender had the pride and the willingness to serve-up a good martini. More than one server had interests and concern that we were being well treated. Staff showed knowledge of the menu and made genuine suggestions from the appetizer menu. Overall a good dining experience and we plan to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    121
    67
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2,906 reviews
1,921 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 941 helpful votes
“A "Best of Class" in bar-restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I ate at the original Distillery on Mount Hope Avenue in Rochester today for the first time in years. Four of us went there for lunch, and I was even more impressed than when I used to frequent this place in the 1980s. The restaurant is quite large inside, with tons of bar seat as well as many, many booths around the perimeter. There are also tables, and a whole second flor in case you get shut out down below.

Besides offering an outstanding array of sandwiches, burgers, wraps and salads, The Distillery is also well-known for it Buffalo-style wings, which are made in a wide variety of tastes, from mild to extremely hot. You can get plates from a simple 10 wings all the way up to belly-bustin platters with 50 wings. They are the best wings in town as far as I'm concerned, although individual tastes do vary.

In addition to offering great food, the entire inside of the bar has lots of big screen TVs for catching almost any game you want to see. If you're a fan of dining outdoors, there are lot of tables outside as well.

This is a great place that has been doing it right for decades. I highly recommend visiting for a burger and a beer. It's worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
135 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The quintessential Monroe County pub chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

There are a handful of these cavernous sports bars spread across town, offering predictable fried and grilled pub fare, daily drink specials and TV screens blaring ESPN crap. Service is friendly, but never prompt enough. However, much about The Distillery mostly works, as evidenced by large satisfied crowds through most evenings and lunch hours. The drinks are cold, and not overpriced, and the food is okay, for the most part.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cannonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellant pub food for many years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have been going since the first one opened. Still my favorite location because of its unique interior and its in the City. All locations feature the same extensive menu - never have had a bad meal there and service always good even on busy sports days and nights. This visit I had the vegetarian quesadilla- really good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had hard time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Though the food was good. Service was bad. And it was hard time to explain that the coupon they offered was applicable with our order. They don' t want to understand even. Why do they give coupons if they can't keep their own words.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mghanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Distillery Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Distillery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing