We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining with a view”

Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
Ranked #147 of 1,280 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Veneto is a casual dining restaurant located in downtown Rochester's East End district. For 13 years, we've specialized in from-scratch, light Italian food in an old world atmosphere. Our atmosphere is upscale, yet casual. The kitchen is our centerpiece, as it should be, and set up so that you may watch your meals being prepared right in front of you. The exposed brick in our 150+ year old building and wood furniture provides a warmth and if that's not enough, the wood fired pizza oven reaches 600 degrees. We'd be honored if you would dine with us and let the food, service, and ambiance speak for itself.Our Signature offerings include wood-fired pizzas and hand-made pastas.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dining with a view”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our friends asked us to join them at Venetos after they had dined there a couple of times. I had wanted to try it so this was a good excuse. I always had the feeling that it was crowded and hard to get a table. False. Yes, our reservations were at 5:30 on Friday evening but it was during the East End Festival and we had no problem getting a reservation. Three of us ordered pasta the fourth got a steak. We had salad and bruchetta as starters which were very good. I had the farfalle with vodka sauce and although the sauce was good it could have been a bit spicier for my taste. The service was very good and the restaurant filled up very fast. We sat in a window seat and were entertained by all the young people walking by to the East End music venues. We enjoyed our meal and would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jawlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    50
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good pizza, passable everything else.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great wood fired pizza. Passable everything else.

Good location downtown. Street parking which I can usually find nearby otherwise there's a paid parking lot right next to it. Outdoor seating which is a good plus when the weather is good.

The place isn't too big but I've never had difficulty finding seating even without a reservation. The kitchen area is right in front of the bar and you can see them make the pizza which is cool. The decor has an earthy/wooden feel which is nice.

I've been here a few times and tried a few things. I've discovered that all the pizzas are quite well done and taste delicious no matter which one you end up getting. The salads are hit or miss. I've had a delicious Greek salad but a very mediocre grilled chicken salad here as well. Same goes for the soups. You get the daily special soup and that's your only option. While the broccoli cheddar soup was just what my taste buds craved (though not as hot as I would have liked - temperature wise), the 12 bean soup was just okay. The Bruschetta is decent and I would order it again.

The servers have been very helpful and pleasant every time I've dined here. Prices are reasonable and I believe maybe a little cheaper than other wood fired pizza places. They offer gluten free pizza and pasta and allow substitutions which is a plus.

All in all a nice cozy place for a casual dinner with a nice atmosphere. Three stars because of plenty of room for improvement in most menu items other than the pizza. Will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Sik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, low-key pizza experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was traveling alone so it's a nice restaurant where easy to sit at the bar and enjoy your meal with a glass of wine. The pizza and salad very good, pastas looked worth trying.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Disappoints”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great Food. Friendly Service. Fair prices. We always enjoy our dining experience at Veneto's. It is one of our favorites.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TH8464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
187 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with friends prior to going to the Little Theater. Everyone enjoyed theirs meals. Two of us had the specials which were very good. The menu is a little limited but they always have three or four interesting specials.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing