We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it all for a convenient Downtown Dinner/Theater Date”

Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
Ranked #149 of 1,280 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Veneto is a casual dining restaurant located in downtown Rochester's East End district. For 13 years, we've specialized in from-scratch, light Italian food in an old world atmosphere. Our atmosphere is upscale, yet casual. The kitchen is our centerpiece, as it should be, and set up so that you may watch your meals being prepared right in front of you. The exposed brick in our 150+ year old building and wood furniture provides a warmth and if that's not enough, the wood fired pizza oven reaches 600 degrees. We'd be honored if you would dine with us and let the food, service, and ambiance speak for itself.Our Signature offerings include wood-fired pizzas and hand-made pastas.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Has it all for a convenient Downtown Dinner/Theater Date”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We frequently find ourselves at Veneto for a bite before or after going to the theaters. Just a nice all around place. Food has always been great, have not had a bad meal yet and a good selection of wine. Great Pizza with flavor and thin crust! It helps to have a reservation on Fri or Sat nights and the staff is always accomodating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    50
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Visiting from out of town. Chose this place for its reviews and reasonable prices. We were not disappointed. Location is convenient, next to a parking lot. Service was friendly. Enjoyed the food as well. Eggplant appetizer was delicious. Ordered their pizza special and couple of pasta dishes (shrimp and mushroom) - both excellent. They had a good selection of desserts. Overall enjoyed the experience. Will recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh, well made pizza and pasta”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I travel to Rochester regularly but this is my first visit to Veneto. One of my friends suggested it and I'm happy that he did. The menu is simple: appetizers, salads, pizzas and pastas. (There was a steak on the menu that also sounded appealing but I had pasta on my mind) The restaurant is easy to find with lots of parking. We were quickly greeted and seated and the waitress gave us a thorough reveiew of the specials: I opted for prosciutto wraps ($10.00)
caesar salad, and fettucine with a vodka sauce. The prosciutto wraps would easily have been enough for four but the two of us enjoyed them all. The caesar salad was fresh and well seasoned. The vodka sauce was very rich and delicious. The wines by the glass were good simple selections. In summary: simple selections, well executed, excellent service at a very reasonable price. Its a formula for success and Veneto does it VERY WELL. I hope to go back on my next visit to Rochester.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Triaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
152 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Consistently great service and food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We go to Veneto about once a month. It is a great go-to restaurant to get a simple pasta or pizza dinner. The Caesar salad is fresh and comes with real anchovies. The pasta is made to order. All the pastas can have chicken added. The vodka sauce pasta is our favorite. The pizzas are thin crusted with great ingredients -- chicken, mushrooms, cheeses,etc.
The servers are great and usually remember what we have ordered in the past. Dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine is less than $70. Highly recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Casual, good pizza”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the very few places in Rochester that offers thin crust brick oven pizza. Small restaurant with small tables close to each other.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing