We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Consistently great service and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta

Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
Ranked #109 of 1,254 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Veneto is a casual dining restaurant located in downtown Rochester's East End district. For 13 years, we've specialized in from-scratch, light Italian food in an old world atmosphere. Our atmosphere is upscale, yet casual. The kitchen is our centerpiece, as it should be, and set up so that you may watch your meals being prepared right in front of you. The exposed brick in our 150+ year old building and wood furniture provides a warmth and if that's not enough, the wood fired pizza oven reaches 600 degrees. We'd be honored if you would dine with us and let the food, service, and ambiance speak for itself.Our Signature offerings include wood-fired pizzas and hand-made pastas.
Rochester
Level Contributor
153 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Consistently great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We go to Veneto about once a month. It is a great go-to restaurant to get a simple pasta or pizza dinner. The Caesar salad is fresh and comes with real anchovies. The pasta is made to order. All the pastas can have chicken added. The vodka sauce pasta is our favorite. The pizzas are thin crusted with great ingredients -- chicken, mushrooms, cheeses,etc.
The servers are great and usually remember what we have ordered in the past. Dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine is less than $70. Highly recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Casual, good pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of the very few places in Rochester that offers thin crust brick oven pizza. Small restaurant with small tables close to each other.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ebr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Highly recommend the mushroom pizza!!! absolutely delicious! ....craving it now! :)
A popular restaurant so be prepared to wait on the weekends or be sure you call ahead! You can sit at the bar, but I've found that the service is not that great at the bar as they are usually waiting on tables as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptivaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a treasure in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location, free parking on Union Street, good menu, great service, good value. My wife and my favorite restaurant in Rochester

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I started going to Veneto back when it first opened and was in a space smaller than the current kitchen. It was our favorite hide-out - good food, good wine and great staff. Then we moved out of the city and had a harder time getting downtown. Just went back tonight after a couple of years away - it's expanded but the food is just as wonderful. My favorite is the proscuitto wrapped mozzarella appetizer that's baked in the oven. I also love the Greek pizza although I switch out the artichokes. Pizzas are light on the crust, with a great flavor and not charred - really delicious. We all loved our pizzas. I didn't get to try a pasta dish this time, but will be back for that.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCKB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing