We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great local place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta

Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta
Ranked #107 of 1,240 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Veneto is a casual dining restaurant located in downtown Rochester's East End district. For 13 years, we've specialized in from-scratch, light Italian food in an old world atmosphere. Our atmosphere is upscale, yet casual. The kitchen is our centerpiece, as it should be, and set up so that you may watch your meals being prepared right in front of you. The exposed brick in our 150+ year old building and wood furniture provides a warmth and if that's not enough, the wood fired pizza oven reaches 600 degrees. We'd be honored if you would dine with us and let the food, service, and ambiance speak for itself.Our Signature offerings include wood-fired pizzas and hand-made pastas.
Rochester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“great local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We love going to venetos for a simple pasta and pizza. The pasta (we have the vodka sauce and the mushroom normally) is terrific. Portions are large so we have lunch/diner for another day. Pizza is wood fired, thin crust. We tend to sit at the bar to watch the place. Service is very good. Waitresses tend to remember who you are and are very good at what they do. Excellent value and we tend to go there 6 - 8 times per year

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wwtravelerRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food was delicious! In addition to the pizza and pasta there area also soup, salad and paninis along with a decent selection of wine. Everyone in our group of 6 loved their meal. Service was adequate, not great. Even though we were there on a Monday with almost no other diners in the restaurant, they refused to give us separate checks or even 2 checks for 3 people. Said the "system wouldn't allow it". Prior to going, I was concerned about the parking, but there were spaces in front, across the street and in a pay lot next door. Definitely worth a trip downtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvocean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, nice small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We love italian food, so my husband found this place and we have the best pizza ever! Desert are great too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A must try! Veneto's on East Ave has a variety of pasta's, pizza's and made to order specials that are delicious. I have been there multiple times, and always try something different, and every time I am extremely pleased with my results. I would say if you are just visiting Rochester or a local, Veneto is a place to keep coming back to!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“you can eat good pizza here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

we choose this place randomly but the pizzas were quite tastety. We had a nice chianti wine,
service was OK and friendly,you can definately try this place

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkzteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Veneto Woodfired Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing