We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long term goal come true”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Genesee Brew House

Genesee Brew House
Ranked #29 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Long term goal come true”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Having started drinking Genesee Cream Ale back in 1981 whilst working as a counsellor on a kids summer camp and taking every opportunity to drink it on following trips to the US (I even managed to buy a case of Genny Cream Ale in Alaska), it has been my goal to visit the brewery one day. So whilst visiting Buffalo for a concert it was too good an opportunity to miss by taking a quick side trip to Rochester NY.
The GPS in the hire car took me straight to 25 Cataract St and the home of Genesee Beers. I enjoyed 90 minutes in the Brew House sampling the beers, reading the displays on the history & beers, and sampling the gift shop. Unfortunately I didn't sample the restaurant / café upstairs as it was heaving, which shows it must be good.
Signing in on arrival using Google maps to show where you are from was a novel feature and I was pleased to be the first visitor from New Zealand.
The Genesee Brew House is well worth a visit if you are in Rochester; and if you already enjoy their beers then you should be prepared to travel from further afield for a taste of fresh cool Genny Cream Ale.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lathkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lunch and a brew plus historical character!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old historical building, right on the banks of the Genesee River. Choice of a number of brews and ales and a solid lunch menu; burgers, sandwiches, salads and more. Restaurant is upstairs, overlooking the river and pedestrian bridge! Downstairs is the brewery, with tours and a tasting bar. Reasonable prices and nice ambiance.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a great addition to Rochester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

In a city full of chain restaurants and empty buildings this sure was a nice surprise. The service was great ( we sat at the bar). The food was tasty and a good reflection of a taste of Rochester. It would be great in the summer too as there is outside seating.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank planck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Genesee Brew House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was good and the service was excellent. The view was nice and we could see the falls from the deck.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank momma225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Great Place to have lunch with friends - Genesee Brew House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Last week in October stopped in to the Genesee Brew House for lunch with a friend. This was my second visit here. We seated at the bar and were greeted by Cary, a wonderfully bright, intelligent woman who poured our sampler flight. She arranged the beers in the flight accordingly. Lunch decided, we discussed the samplers with Cary, as she detailed many aspects of the Genesee Brewery and the work of the master brewer with his craft beers in the Brew House. The reuben I had was very tasty with crunchy chips and my friends 8oz Brewburger was impressive also. Cary informed us the rooftop area was open to view the river gorge and falls. We took in the site with the great view of the falls before we went downstairs to the tasting room on the ground floor, HIDDEN BEHIND THE GIFTSHOP/MUSEUM AREA.
For $2 you can sample 4 different 6oz tasters, with the fee going to charities.
The food was great, the beers were fine, and the barkeeper Cary was most gracious, and should be commended on her service with the customers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank UpstateJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genesee Brew House also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Genesee Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing