We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Reaching for the stars"”

Strasenburgh Planetarium
Ranked #28 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Reaching for the stars"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great place for all ages to view the stars and special programs that are very educational. The theate is set up so you can look up at the viewing screen comfotably.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DBandWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blast off! Sort of... (Ray & Sylvia)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This planetarium is very clean, offers a lot of free parking, boasts some nifty movies with state of the art special effects, but we felt that their adherence to the truth in advertising principle was grossly lacking. To be clear, so you don't make the same mistake we did, although the marquees poster over the entrance boasts, "Blast off with us into the galaxy!" you do not--I repeat DO NOT--actually leave planet earth. For 18 bucks, we thought we had stumbled onto the travel deal of the millennium. Heck, 2 round trips to Vegas are 700 bucks! When we first arrived with our suitcases, I asked the tour guide whether there was a baggage fee. He looked at me like I was from Mars (which, incidentally, was where we figured our layover would be.) What a let down. If you want to sit in some comfortable seats and see some nifty make believe stars, this is your place. But you won't be adding any frequent flyer miles to the credit card.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FordKels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
569 reviews
354 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“KARL is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

One of the few original star projectors left. The star shows are great as are the the IMAX films. We have been members for the past 8 years.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank journeymaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent programs from age 3 and older”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have enjoyed the programs at the planetarium since I was a teenager, years ago. Now we are taking our grandchildren to the planetarium. The 3 and 4 year olds were sitting on the edge of their seat during Fly me to the Moon. The teenagers liked the NASA program and the other programs as well. We still enjoy the laser shows as well. Something for everyone. Then you can stop next door to the Science Museum to finish out the day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhz0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Held the attention of the kids and had a great experience. The announcer was very knowledgeable and was enthusiastic about sharing his knowledge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teresarn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strasenburgh Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Strasenburgh Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing