We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our second stay at the Edward Harris House Inn. We spent four nights this time during the week of Thanksgiving. It is right around the corner from my daughter's apartment and withing easy walking distance of restaurants on Park, the Eastman House on East Ave. and the museum on University. The room was spacious and appointed with all we needed. King size bed, great shower, comfortable reading chair and good lighting for reading. Breakfast was served at our convenience and was delicious. The French toast made from croissants were yummy. No need for lunch. Susan, Manny and Heather are excellent hosts and they see to every detail. I loved that there was a hot pot on the second floor landing so that I could have tea when I wanted it. We will stay there every time we visit Rochester.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jema_T_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast. My husband and I stayed here on Friday night and will be back the next time we are in Rochester. I grew up in Rochester and never knew this place existed until recently. We were back in town to visit family and stayed in Emily's Suite. Our room was beautifully decorated and filled with comfy chairs, a desk and an extremely comfortable king bed. There were snacks and water upon our arrival and we felt very at home. Our bathroom had a lovely deep bathtub and plenty of fluffy towels and extra amenities. Every detail is thought of in this B&B and the owners clearly enjoy being hosts. Our breakfast the next day was delicious and we truly felt like we found a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraKinderhook_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We resevered here because it was closer to the venue and spectacularly much nicer between East and Park, then anywhere inside the loop.
This is an excellent location in Rochester, a very beautiful part of town. We had dinner around the corner on Park at Jine's on our way to the show. We walked, or you could call a cab, to see
Joe Bonamassa LIVE at the Rochester Theater tonight !
What a show! This B&B was the icing on the cake !

Room Tip: Our room # 2 has a name: Emily
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My two girlfriends and I just returned home to Houston, Texas after spending three amazing nights at The Edward Harris House in Rochester, NY. As an avid traveler, I can honestly say that this is one of the best B&B's I have ever been to. From the moment we stepped foot onto the beautiful property until the moment we left, we were surrounded by such warmth and friendliness. Susan, Manny, and Heather have created a magnificent place that provides you with all of the comforts of home while surrounding you with beautiful antiques and decorations. Their attention to detail is unparallelled. The breakfasts were amazing and the endless supply of cookies were an added bonus. If I am ever in the area again, I will definitely plan to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This B&B is a beautiful home in a great neighborhood. It is close to many attractions in downtown Rochester, close to freeway access and is within walking distance of a number of good restaurants. Manny and Susan are friendly and professional. We stayed in Emily’s suite, which has a king-size bed, reading area, desk area and a large bathroom. Emily’s suite is nicely decorated and very comfortable. The B&B is located on a pretty quiet street, so noise isn’t a factor in any of the rooms. There is a library downstairs to read or watch DVDs. I gave this four stars instead of five because, I wake up VERY early and like to make a cup of coffee first thing, not wait for an hour and a half. Coffee wasn’t available until 7 a.m. I wish more B&B’s would buy a Keurig coffee maker for guests to use. I think there was a beverage station outside our room, but it wasn’t really explained and while I saw tea and coffee bags, there was no creamer for coffee and I wasn’t sure how to operate the pot for heating water. Breakfast is good, but not the most memorable thing about the B&B. Manny makes a very good omelet, but our second day I don’t think Manny was cooking. Pancakes were way overdone. That said, I don’t think you will be disappointed by staying at the Edward Harris House. It is a lovely and comfortable B&B.

Room Tip: Emily's suite is spacious and comfortable; Rosemary's suite is large but the bath is tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I visited Rochester and stayed at the Edward Harris House for four nights. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay immensely. From check-in to check-out, we were treated like royalty. The staff was friendly and willing to please. Our breakfast was serve in a beautiful dining room at the precise time we requested. It was delicious and the presentation was absolutely beautiful. Our room was spacious, immaculate, and completely stocked with plenty of towels and nice toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable. The house is spacious and beautifully decorated. We were also able to enjoy a large living room with a fireplace where we could relax and enjoy the quiet atmosphere anytime we pleased. Manny and Susan are wonderful hosts and really made our stay relaxing and memorable. We will definitely return and recommend
this inn to our family and friends. Thank you so much for all your hard work!!!
Ed and Maria L. Florida

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed one evening at the Edward Harris House, in the Emily Room which was lovely and accessorized to remind you of Paris. Room was furnished for comfort with lots of extra towels, nice toiletries, cute knick-knacks to convey homeyness. The house itself is beautifully decorated and offered many nice little touches - a carafe of coffee liqueur, jar of homemade cookies, bowl of pistachio nuts in the living room, an electric kettle for tea on the upstairs landing for guests in the evening, etc.

We would have given it five stars except that we had the feeling the Edward Harris may be starting to coast on its reputation. Our welcome upon arrival felt a little perfunctory, similar to what you might expect at a large hotel. Breakfast the next morning was good, but certainly not over the top. Our innkeeper was nowhere to be seen and the manager/housekeeper seemed harried as she rushed to get breakfast on the table and cater to the guests.

Room Tip: The Emily Room is quite small. Go for a king-size suite if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluenote18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
195 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.3 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#18 of 29 in Rochester
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
1 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages

Address: 35 Argyle St, Rochester, NY 14607-2301
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range: $188 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing