We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great art, great people buried here”

Mount Hope Cemetery
Ranked #4 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Hope, dedicated in 1838, is America's first municipal Victorian Cemetery. Set in a picturesque landscape shaped by retreating glaciers, the cemetery contains priceless pieces of art and rare horticultural specimens. It is the final resting place of many dignified and internationally known individuals, including Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass, and is on the National Park Services National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. Mount Hope is listed in the New York State Register of Historic Places and National Register of Historic Places as part of the Mt. Hope/Highland Preservation District, featuring 83 mausoleums, soaring Egyptian obelisks, a Florentine cast-iron fountain, two stone chapels in the Gothic Revival style, a Moorish gazebo, a Victorian Gothic gatehouse, and infinitely varied tombstones marking 350,000 graves across 196 acres.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“great art, great people buried here”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a cemetary you must see. Susan B. Anthony, Fredrick Douglas and many other notable Rochester natives are buried here. There are currently more buried here than the population of Rochester. Great tombstones. there are free tours on Sundays

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Consultantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    84
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An inspiring surprise!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We dropped our son off at the University of Rochester and wanted to see some local attractions.
As we drove by Mount Hope cemetery we saw signs for tours on Saturday and Sunday. Saturday entailed famous well known people from the Rochester community and was at 1pm. Sundays tour included Susan B Anthony and Frederick Douglas and was at 2pm. We planned to leave the area on early Sunday morning. We decided we wanted really to know more about the Rochester area and went on Saturday. A lovely young couple who graduated from the University of Rochester were giving the tour and could not have been more enthusiastic. We had a pleasant afternoon meeting Rochester enterpeneurs . We visited elaborate monuments that had plenty of stories to be told and a beautifully carved monument by Tiffany and Co..The tour was more about the how people took chances in business and became a success. Monument and statutes that celebrated life. A young couple on their honeymoon that died on the Titanic had beautiful monuments. So if your interested in history and how people become successful this is the place. I promise you won't be bored! At the end of the tour you also get cookies and lemonade ,what a treat. You'll leave peaceful, serene , and hopeful!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mcd931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Famous Folks in History Here”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Susan B Anthony, Frederick Douglas among famous people in this beautiful resting place of shady hilly landscape - lovely monuments and beautiful trees. Tours have been available and very interesting.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank GrammaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, Pays de la Loire, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty Cemetary”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Mount Hope Cemetery is a pretty cemetery with some beautiful monuments and mausoleums. The grounds are well kept and sprawling.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not a morbid or scary place, but rather lovely...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I walk thru Mt Hope a good deal. There are docent-led tours on the weekends and I highly recommend them. While Susan B. Anthony's and Frederick Douglas' grave sites are a big attraction, there are quite a few other worthwhile stories of people buried there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Hope Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hope Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing