We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Nikko - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nikko
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Caledonia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The whole experience was positive, the atmosphere was pleasant, the service was excellent and the food was outstanding. This is a great place if you want a different experience. The server helped us order and it turned out great. Try the "Little Kee Kee" it's a signature drink and it's very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Sushi”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a great find, kind of a trendy setting right next to the water. The Miso soup was some of the best I have ever had, it is not your traditional Miso soup that you get at any other Sushi restaurant, this is loaded with mushrooms,greens, tofu and shrimp in a really nice broth. I had the 7th level Sushi roll it was outstanding!!!! This is a gem of a place and I will be back next time I am in Rochester.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent sashimi and dessert, but limited menu”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We made a reservation at this restaurant for a Tuesday evening, which was not necessary, because the restaurant was only 1/3 full. The menu is limited. It includes both traditional Japanese dishes like sushi, sashimi and nigiri, and other dishes, like braised short ribs, which are completely inauthentic. The menu is especially limited if you keep kosher, because most of the "fusion" dishes contain pork, shrimp, or a combination of cheese and meat.

We ordered 3 kinds of sushi: Buddha, Jolly Green Giant, and Nikkospice. The sushi was nothing special. We ordered two kinds of sashimi: Maguro and Sake, which were excellent. Note that any order sushi contains 6 or 8 pieces. Every order of sashimi contains one piece.

We ordered green and peach teas. The teacups were difficult to hold because of their awkward design: they had miniature handles that are difficult to grasp. The tea itself was okay.

We had flour-less chocolate tart for desert. It came with espresso gelato. The tart was excellent, but a little heavy. It was difficult to finish the portion, but it was oh so good.

The service was prompt and attentive. The decor was inviting.

The price for 3 kinds of sushi and two pieces of sashimi, two teas, and two tarts was $70 before tip. Each piece of sashimi was either $3 or $3.50, but they are well worth it.

I rate this restaurant as "good" overall. Better than average, but not "very good".

A side notice: if you plan to visit this restaurant in the winter (beginning of April is still winter in Rochester), do not even think of walking to the restaurant. The wind will make you miserable. A few short block on the map feels like a trek in a deserted wilderness.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! Great sushi and fusion cuisine”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ate here before a RPO concert. First off, the house cocktails are amazing, particularly the sake/pear vodka/ginger one! The salads were creative and delicious, combining many great flavors together. We had several delicious sushi rolls, including perhaps the best BBQ eel roll I've ever had. And the passionfruit salmon was to die for. Absolutely wonderful food, and we really enjoyed talking to our waiter about the artwork he did around the place. Great vibe, great times, great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UpstateNYTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great new find in Rochester”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I went to Nikko's for the first time this past weekend. We got the about 6pm and there were no tables until 9pm so we sat at the bar. From the first drink everything was first class. My Cosmo was one of the best I ever had. Our shrimp roll was excellent. The arugula salad was perfectly seasoned and plenty for my husband and I to share. Both of our entrees were excellent....we will be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEM581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikko also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing