We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Zeppa Bistro - CLOSED

Zeppa Bistro
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: A modern American bistro, the restaurant has a hip, cool vibe with an amazing menu. A newly refashioned bar invites you to sit comfortably and enjoy one of Zeppa’s seasonal signature cocktails or chose from an impressive collection of beers and wines.​In addition to the restaurant, Zeppa offers alternative dining areas that can accommodate parties up to 47 guests for catering, private parties and business meetings. These areas feature a separate entrance and restroom.The Zeppa Auditorium, located upstairs from the dining area, is available to hold large events—be it a concert, private wedding reception, party, large meeting or dinner.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A party of six arrived early for our reservations and ended up at the bar for quite some time. The atomosphere as noted in the other reviews is excellent. The restaurant occupies the lower floor of the old German House. It opened in January and everything is brand new. The aroma froom the kitchen on entering was tantalizing to say the least. Unfortunately for us the first service was full of lingerers. We ended up wating quite a while for our table. The bartender was great to us. The manager and our server were apologetic and we were comped two desserts. The menu is what one would expect from a good steak house. I can honestly say that the steak was one of the best I've ever had. I would absolutely eat there again and agree this place is hidden gem on the Rochester fine dining scene. The only complaint was management's unwillingness to move some of the large lingering tables into the bar area in order to open up tables.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Ingersoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Best kept secret!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I are pretty fussy when it comes to food and wine, but this was OUTSTANDING!! Best food I've had in Rochester in a long time. Everything was made to order tasty and fresh. The wine list was small but had all that you need. Can't wait to go back and bring friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryjoeMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Minimalist decor...wonderful food.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Zeppa Bistro is located in the German House on Gregory St -- formerly the location of Rohrbach's. Think monestery for decor. Think wow for food. I'd never eaten duck but did so on the waiter's recommendation, and it was excellent paired with chard and small gnocchi. Just the right flavors. On another occasion, I tried the fennel sausage sliders -- YUM!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RochesterSicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had an excellent meal there tonight! Thursday is their 3 course prixe fixe with wine and not only was the food excellent, but it was also a great value! Service along with it was also very good. The corn chowder was amazing! I would highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport NY
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining & Food without having to take out a loan”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food was wonderful. And I am so glad that this restaurant is in our own backyard so to speak.

We started off with the Fennel Sausage sliders. I am not a big fan of sausage but this was worth it. We told our server that they should put this on the menu as an entree instead of an appetizer. My husband and I both had steak. He had a ribeye and I had a filet. Both were grilled to perfection and tender. The crispy polenta is very interesting. It wasn't for me but my husband loved it. The service is the type that you would receive at an upscale restaurant. And the best part is with drinks and appetizers we didn't break the bank. We will definitely be back and if you are ever in Rochester,NY definitely make the time to to dine at Zeppa.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravelalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeppa Bistro also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing