We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Inn On Broadway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn On Broadway
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an historic property and is filled with charm. Each room is different--I've been here more than once--there are comfortable nooks stocked with books, and the service is attentive and personal, harkening back to a less frenetic time. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast generous (juices, beverages, pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, mini-quiche, cereal and toast), and the in-house restaurant a gem. The stately homes of East Avenue and museums are just up the road, as well as an art movie theatre and the wonderful concert offerings of the Eastman School of Music. A fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaF168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 153 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay at The Inn on Broadway for 2 nights over the Thanksgiving day weekend. We arrived late Thursday, and promptly made reservations for a traditional Thanksgiving day dinner in their restaurant Tournedos.
The service and food for Thanksgiving dinner were superb. We returned the next night for a wonderful steak dinner with the same great service.
Our room (Room 411) was large with a working fireplace, small kitchen, bath & shower.

The pros of this hotel are; the staff are courteous and beyond helpful and took good care of us. The linens are good as well as housekeeping. The hotel is lovely enough.

The negatives for us were....the shower head in in the shower (Rm. 411) were not high enough for my husband who is 6'2". It was not adjustable at all, so, it was fine for me but short for him.
There was no safety deposit box in the room for our passports etc. as we were traveling from Canada and feel better when we can put them away. This was the first time in years that we have stayed in a hotel without a safety deposit box. Yes, there should be a full length mirror in every room as one other reviewer mentioned. There is not a full length mirror anywhere in the hotel that I noticed. I feel that the toiletries could be a little better, but I always bring my own regardless.
The location, while downtown, is not far from most sites and shopping malls. We were visiting Rochester as our friend Al Chez, former trumpeter for David Letterman's orchestra was playing a gig in town (Henrietta) with his Brothers of Funk big band, so it was a convenient 15 minute drive to the venue.
If you are thinking of staying here, then book the room. I'm very fussy and would not stay in a chain
If we ever found ourselves back in Rochester we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celticmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during a University of Rochester Reunion weekend. The hotel staff gave us a very nice room (#408) on the 4th floor. It was a kingsized bed with a small kitchenette. The room was well stocked with coffee, tea and utensils. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Breakfast was a basic continental but was included in the room rate.

Room Tip: 4th floor - room 408 - king room with kitchenette was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I just stayed 5 nights at Inn on Broadway during our visit to Rochester. We could not have been happier with our room on the fourth floor, which included a cozy fireplace. I am a stickler for cleanliness, and normally hotels never meet my strict cleanliness standards; however, Inn on Broadway managed to do just that. I could not find any neglect, even in places such as the corners on the tile bathroom floor. The floors, bedding, and bathroom were impeccably clean. The only thing I wished for, which is a personal preference, was a full length mirror or at least a large mirror outside the bathroom to facilitate two people getting ready in the morning; however, that did not affect my overall opinion of our stay. We found the property to be extremely quiet. We usually stay at larger upscale hotel chains, so we were pleasantly surprised at Inn on Broadway not to hear slamming doors all night as is common in most hotels. There also seemed to be events in the evening at the hotel; however we were never disturbed by noise during our stay. The property seems to attract more mature adult guests and travelers (or that was definitely the case when we stayed), and that is likely what contributed to our peaceful stay which is exactly what we always hope for when traveling. The staff was very friendly, and we were always greeted by hotel staff while in the hotel by everyone from the valet, to housekeeping, to the front desk, so you definitely feel welcome and that your business is appreciated. A couple of mornings we enjoyed the generous continental breakfast, which even included delicious pastries and mini quiche, very unexpected items at a complimentary breakfast. Although we did not eat at the restaurant aside from breakfast, to sit in the dining room and enjoy rich, dark wood surroundings and relaxing music from bygone eras was completely charming. I think it would be difficult to stay in a better location in Rochester. Besides being directly across the street from a lovely old-world church that is picturesque in itself, you are within short walking distance from quaint coffee shops, bars, and restaurants so you can experience Rochester as a local. The hotel is also about a block away from the Eastman School of Music. We walked to the ticket office and purchased tickets to a chamber orchestra concert one evening and had a truly enjoyable, cultural experience. Then, of course, you are conveniently located near other local attractions that are within driving distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a more unique hotel experience and would stay here again without even considering other options if I ever visit Rochester in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evasteigerwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came to find the Inn on Broadway after a bad experience at a Niagara Falls B&B.... From the moment Anna answered my call explaining our need for a room to checkout our stay was FANTASTIC!!!! We arrived at approximately 8:15 pm after a long 8 hour drive to our Niagara Falls fiasco and back an hour towards home, to find Anna waiting for us .... Her adorable smile and cheerfulness was a welcomed sight! Check in was quick and within minutes we were in our room! The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated ! Just what we needed and deserved after such a long day! The multi -jet shower was amazing! We headed downstairs to Touredo's steak house for a bite to eat ... We were seated within moments by a very friendly , smiling hostess! Once seated we were greeted immediately by Mike the first of our two waiters who offered us water .....next came Leo who gave us the Specials without missing a beat....it is my pleasure to compliment these two gentleman!! They were on point 110% attentive,courteous,professional, personable they made our dining experience an exceptional one!!! The food was AMAZINGGGGG!!! Expensive but worth every penny !!! Steak flavorful and tender....butternut squash with a hint of brown sugar and the creamiest mashed potatoes!! The cream of broccoli soup with bacon and cheese.... devine!! The brownie dessert , to die for! Our meal ended with two content, full bellies and two warm towels to wash our hands .....kudos to Leo and Mike our service was impeccable!!! Our compliments to the chef as well ....unbelievable flavor and quality !!!! Back to the room for a little tv and a great nights sleep in a comfortable bed with crisp, great smelling linens ..... Fluffy towels and soft luxurious robes in the bathroom .... Nothing was overlooked or spared in this beautiful little hideaway ! We were blessed to find such warm people , great food and comfort! I give this Inn and its staff 10 stars and recommend it to all who read this review that I am so pleased to leave ! Thank you for a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed there on our wedding night. Staff very helpful finding us food and we couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel overall. The decor fit very nicely through the hotel and the third floor actually had its own lobby/sitting area we would have enjoyed if there on a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Inn is great-staff super kind and helpful...room was upgraded without asking .bed really comfy---easy parking--breakfast ready bright and early----ioved location- it is an old fashion inn no bells and whistles but stately and homey...Best Bet in Rochester!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmyruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
196.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rochester Riverside Hotel
Rochester Riverside Hotel
#29 of 29 in Rochester
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Broadway

Address: 26 Broadway, Rochester, NY 14607-1704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $189 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Broadway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Inn on Broadway features 23 boutique style rooms each unique from one another. Whether in town for business or enjoying a staycation, the Inn on Broadway has a room to meet your needs! All rooms feature down bedding and imported linens. Included as well are in room Keurig coffeemakers, hair dryers and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn On Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel Rochester
Hotel On Broadway
On Broadway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing