We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Classy, Historical, Urban Hotel Experience!”
Review of Inn On Broadway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn On Broadway
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Classy, Historical, Urban Hotel Experience!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I just stayed 5 nights at Inn on Broadway during our visit to Rochester. We could not have been happier with our room on the fourth floor, which included a cozy fireplace. I am a stickler for cleanliness, and normally hotels never meet my strict cleanliness standards; however, Inn on Broadway managed to do just that. I could not find any neglect, even in places such as the corners on the tile bathroom floor. The floors, bedding, and bathroom were impeccably clean. The only thing I wished for, which is a personal preference, was a full length mirror or at least a large mirror outside the bathroom to facilitate two people getting ready in the morning; however, that did not affect my overall opinion of our stay. We found the property to be extremely quiet. We usually stay at larger upscale hotel chains, so we were pleasantly surprised at Inn on Broadway not to hear slamming doors all night as is common in most hotels. There also seemed to be events in the evening at the hotel; however we were never disturbed by noise during our stay. The property seems to attract more mature adult guests and travelers (or that was definitely the case when we stayed), and that is likely what contributed to our peaceful stay which is exactly what we always hope for when traveling. The staff was very friendly, and we were always greeted by hotel staff while in the hotel by everyone from the valet, to housekeeping, to the front desk, so you definitely feel welcome and that your business is appreciated. A couple of mornings we enjoyed the generous continental breakfast, which even included delicious pastries and mini quiche, very unexpected items at a complimentary breakfast. Although we did not eat at the restaurant aside from breakfast, to sit in the dining room and enjoy rich, dark wood surroundings and relaxing music from bygone eras was completely charming. I think it would be difficult to stay in a better location in Rochester. Besides being directly across the street from a lovely old-world church that is picturesque in itself, you are within short walking distance from quaint coffee shops, bars, and restaurants so you can experience Rochester as a local. The hotel is also about a block away from the Eastman School of Music. We walked to the ticket office and purchased tickets to a chamber orchestra concert one evening and had a truly enjoyable, cultural experience. Then, of course, you are conveniently located near other local attractions that are within driving distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a more unique hotel experience and would stay here again without even considering other options if I ever visit Rochester in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evasteigerwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    33
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
75
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came to find the Inn on Broadway after a bad experience at a Niagara Falls B&B.... From the moment Anna answered my call explaining our need for a room to checkout our stay was FANTASTIC!!!! We arrived at approximately 8:15 pm after a long 8 hour drive to our Niagara Falls fiasco and back an hour towards home, to find Anna waiting for us .... Her adorable smile and cheerfulness was a welcomed sight! Check in was quick and within minutes we were in our room! The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated ! Just what we needed and deserved after such a long day! The multi -jet shower was amazing! We headed downstairs to Touredo's steak house for a bite to eat ... We were seated within moments by a very friendly , smiling hostess! Once seated we were greeted immediately by Mike the first of our two waiters who offered us water .....next came Leo who gave us the Specials without missing a beat....it is my pleasure to compliment these two gentleman!! They were on point 110% attentive,courteous,professional, personable they made our dining experience an exceptional one!!! The food was AMAZINGGGGG!!! Expensive but worth every penny !!! Steak flavorful and tender....butternut squash with a hint of brown sugar and the creamiest mashed potatoes!! The cream of broccoli soup with bacon and cheese.... devine!! The brownie dessert , to die for! Our meal ended with two content, full bellies and two warm towels to wash our hands .....kudos to Leo and Mike our service was impeccable!!! Our compliments to the chef as well ....unbelievable flavor and quality !!!! Back to the room for a little tv and a great nights sleep in a comfortable bed with crisp, great smelling linens ..... Fluffy towels and soft luxurious robes in the bathroom .... Nothing was overlooked or spared in this beautiful little hideaway ! We were blessed to find such warm people , great food and comfort! I give this Inn and its staff 10 stars and recommend it to all who read this review that I am so pleased to leave ! Thank you for a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed there on our wedding night. Staff very helpful finding us food and we couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel overall. The decor fit very nicely through the hotel and the third floor actually had its own lobby/sitting area we would have enjoyed if there on a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Inn is great-staff super kind and helpful...room was upgraded without asking .bed really comfy---easy parking--breakfast ready bright and early----ioved location- it is an old fashion inn no bells and whistles but stately and homey...Best Bet in Rochester!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmyruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while attending a wedding, and while the room was nice, and the staff were friendly, things just weren't as upscale as the room price would suggest (and the state and local taxes were significant). As mentioned elsewhere, the security is with old-school keys, which is worrysome, and I got the feeling anyone who looked respectable could have walked up and asked for an extra key to my room.

A group of us tried to use their lounge for some after-dinner drinks, but there was no staff on duty, so a young man did his best to figure out how to serve drinks (might have been a server from the restaurant), but basically we left due to lack of service.

A minor point on the room we had. No mirror outside of the bathroom. With 2 people changing for a wedding, that was annoying.

Breakfast was good, but the wedding reception main courses were average at best. The good news is that we had a fabulous party.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EugeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We can't say enough about the friendly, courteous staff. They went out of their way to accommodate us. However, the room, although nice, was not very luxurious. There was no place to keep any beverage or things that had to be refrigerated. If you want ice, you have to call down to the main desk to get some. There was no security lock on the door (such as a chain lock). I had a lot of difficulty getting wi-fi to work and when I questioned it, I was told that my room must be in a "dead spot."
The sheer curtains and shades were not sufficient enough to keep the bright morning sun out of the room at 6:30AM.
The bathroom was very nice and again, the staff wonderful, but I can't say I would consider it a luxury stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieAnn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Export, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed at The Inn while I was there to meet with business associates and we enjoyed the experience immensely. The hotel has an understated elegance without being stuffy. The staff is genuine and professional, attending to the visitor's every need. Our room and bath were expansive and well appointed, perfectly climate controlled and clean, with very luxurious linens. Some city road work was being done just a block away, and we were never disturbed by the noise. The restaurant, Tournedos, is apparently one of the best kept secrets in Rochester. Seafood and steaks are definitely their specialty, but not to be eclipsed are the bread and desserts made by their pastry chef. In fact everything is made in-house. A Six Star hotel and restaurant. If you don't have any other reason to travel to Rochester, just go to stay at The Inn - the experience is worth it.

Room Tip: If you have any concerns, just ask when you book. This is not a chain and they will accommodate your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.3 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#24 of 29 in Rochester
1,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On Broadway

Property: Inn On Broadway
Address: 26 Broadway, Rochester, NY 14607-1704
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On Broadway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Inn on Broadway features 23 boutique style rooms each unique from one another. Whether in town for business or enjoying a staycation, the Inn on Broadway has a room to meet your needs! All rooms feature down bedding and imported linens. Included as well are in room Keurig coffeemakers, hair dryers and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn On Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Broadway Hotel Rochester
Hotel On Broadway
On Broadway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing