We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a glass of wine and/or dessert after the show!”
Review of Little Theatre

Little Theatre
Ranked #2 of 43 Fun & Games in Rochester
Attraction details
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoy a glass of wine and/or dessert after the show!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I just love the Little! If we are early we'll have a glass of wine before the show. When we watch the previews, we are overwhelmed by the variety and quality of the films 'now showing' and the ones coming soon. There are 'hit' movies, foreign films, small Independent films, quirky award winning films, shorts, locally filmed and/or produced films, etc. The selection is always great. After the show we have coffee/tea and dessert and talk about the movie, while listening to local jazz musicians play. It is such a great experience and unlike anything else Rochester has to offer. It is truly a local gem!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mfarnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    21
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Our favorite theater”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The only place to see Independent films in Rochester (yes, Pittsford Cinema sometimes carries these films, but they are ALWAYS at The Little). A stop at the Little Cafe before OR after the show makes for a very nice evening out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful movie theater.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This movie theater is a gem. It shows wonderful art films and has fabulous popcorn! I wish it had week day matinees, but I'm sure it can't afford to offer them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Last of a dying breed”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

How many indie theatres are left in this country? Bet not many. This one is one of the best. The coffee shop they have there is also a great place to go after a show.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sundance in Rochester”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Little is the place to go for independent and foreign films in Rochester. We regularly attend the Sundance Film festival and can be assured that the films we dont get to see there can be viewed at the Little. We just attended Beasts of the Southern Wild, which we heard about on almost every wait list line we were in at Sundance.

The snacks are great, there is a reasonable restaurant attached to the building with 4 of the 5 screens with music many nights a week.

The Little is also a venue for local film festivals, most recently the Jewish Film Festival, which was excellent.

the one drawback is the seats which are not the most comfortable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HELRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Theatre also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Little Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing