We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place”

The Strong National Museum of Play
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.50*
and up
The Strong Museum Admission
Ranked #1 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Strong is a highly interactive, collections-based museum devoted to the history and exploration of play. It is one of the largest history museums in the United States and one of the leading museums serving families. The Strong houses the world's largest and most comprehensive collection of historical materials related to play and is home to the International Center for the History of Electronic Games, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the World Video Game Hall of Fame, the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the Woodbury School, and the American Journal of Play. Together, these enable a multifaceted array of research, exhibition, and other interpretive and educational activities that serve a diverse audience of adults, families, children, students, teachers, scholars, collectors, and others around the globe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I took my one year old granddaughter and watched her eyes light up.
We weren't able to see everything this time but we will be back again over the holidays

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillKathy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,386
    234
    40
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
1,065 reviews
328 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Museum for Kids”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I took our 2 and 4 year old grandsons here for 3 hours last weekend while visiting family in the area and it wasn't nearly enough time for us although the kids might have been a bit worn out! This is the most creative, stimulating museum I have ever been to; even my husband and I did not want to leave when it closed at 5 p.m. The grandkids had a blast. One warning, after paying $13 per person to get in including the kids, you have to pay extra for carousel rides and train rides ($1 per token) and we did not go to the butterfly exhibit because we did not want to pay an additional $4 a person. Luckily the grandkids were not that bothered about the butterflies as they were so happy in the Super Kids market, the Sesame Street exhibit, the Reading Adventureland, the Berenstain Bears and the Field of Play. The aquariums are nice too and the toilets were spotless. The staff are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful or any nicer. Kudos to all concerned, can't wait to visit there again!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Was in Rochester over the weekend and spent the day at the Museum of Play. Too many gun things to do with soo little time. My kids had an enjoyable time and our friends who joined us would agree. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank TomBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun for all.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Strong museum is a wonderful play for kids as well as adults, it brings back memories for the adult while the kids learn about a variety of things. There is even a little mock grocery story where the kids can shop. A very enjoyable place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Milton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Family entertainment at its very best”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is by far the best family entertainment in Rochester. If you have children the annual membership is the best entertainment value in Rochester.

The Strong first floor has several permanent exhibits that are great favorites, in particular the Wegman's. There are several spaces that change exhibits every several months. The first floor also houses the aquariums, the carousel and the train ride along with the food courts. There is also a stand alone Bill Gray's diner. The food court has a Taco Bell/Pizza Hut express, Subway and an ice cream shop. In the rear of the first floor is the Butterfly Garden. There is a nice outdoor garden outside the food court.

The second floor houses several permanent exhibits along with the National Toy Museum. There is also the video game exhibit which was made permanent.

There is an endless variety of activities to indulge in, multiple visits are easily achieved as there are so many things to do. There are also many crafting stations along the museum with supplies to let everyone indulge in their curiousity.

If you have children the Strong Museum is a must.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank danrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strong National Museum of Play also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Strong National Museum of Play? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing