We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Taste and Decent Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariachi Mexican Grill

Mariachi Mexican Grill
Ranked #860 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Authentic Taste and Decent Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been to Maricahi's several times and every time the food was fresh and authentic. Their bottomless fresh tortilla chips and salsa offering before you get your meals is awesome. The waiters and host have always been very polite and attentive. Just a few weeks ago we happened to go on a night they had a guitarist going table to table meeting people and playing a tune focused on the people he met. He was a good musician and singer and set a good tone for the atmosphere. This restaurant is very family friendly. Since many small children are not use to or like spicy food, they have a kid's menu of burgers, fries and chicken tenders. This makes it easier for parents to enjoy their favorite foods while their kids are happy as well. This is on our top 5 places to eat in the neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 411TravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Henrietta, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome and friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband i went here for dinner. I loved the food, and the service was wonderful. The waiter was very friendly and laughed at us because we ordered 2 Coronaritas, when clearly we should have shared. lol..They are HUGE! We left so full and happy, I can't wait to go again. Anyone that dislikes this place, must be way to picky and should stay home and eat. There is nothing bad to say about the place. And the decor is beautiful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NEVER again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was a good thing I had a restaurant.com certificate for this place because the food was horrible! We arrived and were greeted with a less than friendly manor by the gentleman at the door....we were sat and after about 10 min our server came over, an older woman, the only non hispanic server in the restaurnat (not that it matters) who knew little to NOTHING about menu or drink items! When asked what kind of margaritas they had she said "oh it's on the back" and all that was on the back was small, medium, large and super!!! Then she attempted to tell me flavors. I had seen a sign at the front and caught Mango on the list so I ordered that....she said "oh I don't think we have that" and I told her they most certainly did. After receiving our drinks she said "i'll get your order in a few minutes"........try about 15!! Luckily another young gentleman brought us chips and salsa which was actually very good. I ordered the Fiesta Fajita's with chicken, shrimp and beef. When it arrived the plate it was on wasn't even hot let alone sizzling as Fajitas are supposed to be and the Fiesta must have been the peppers and onions on it because other than that I got 3 little shrimp, 2 pieces of chicken and maybe 5 strips of beef which was tough BEYOND belief!!! The tortilla's came folded and wrapped in foil on a separate plate and after eating my first one the other 2 were hard and chewy. Our server never came back to check on us until we were done which at that point we just wanted OUT!! Our bill came to $35.83 less the certificate of $25 and they are supposed to add 18% grat which they didn't and though she DID NOT deserve 10% for a tip I left her 20% because I felt sorry for her. It seemed being the only "non-hispanic" server in the place the owner seemed to pick on her and yell at her every chance he got IN FRONT of people which frazzled her even more! The ONLY good part of the night was the Mango and the Strawberry Margarita's my daughter and I had. Don't waste your time.........go to Salena's!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in with my family and what a treat. The service was top notch and the food was authentic and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank dawnchugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just had a wonderful experience at Mariachi's with friends and family. Tonight a live mariachi band was playing and they made us all free like we were in Mexico. We were all enjoying authentic atmosphere and delicious food. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bpoling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariachi Mexican Grill also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mariachi Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing