We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Wings Around!”
Review of Quaker Steak and Lube - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Quaker Steak and Lube
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
259 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best Wings Around!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love my wings and am quite critical, and often apprehensive to try new ones for fear they will either not be spicy enough, or not have any flavor.

Quaker Steak knows what they're doing---this is the second time I've been here (previously went to the one in Syracuse), and dove into their Triple Atomic (had Atomic last time) and was certainly not disappointed. Their hot wings get hot, but all have distinctively good flavor, even the triple atomic, which carry an almost fruity-sweet flavor, in addition to the burning hot buffalo taste that is expected.

Everything else I've had here---fries, nachos, onion rings...show that they are masters of the deep fryer. I certainly wish they'd open a location in Albany some day : )

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edrick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love the Buckeye BBQ!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

They have the best spicy bbq sauce - buckeye bbq and the wings are always great and crisy. They also have Fat free ranch which is helpful doesnt add quite as much fat. The drinks are great including the bloody mary, root beer float tasting drink. Always great service. Highly recommended - fun atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good Wings - great sports bar”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Wings were super interesting - was hard to believe that I had to sign a release for the two hottest - the flavor didn't appeal to me so I have the third hottest - not that not but good flavor!

Good Sports bar atmosphere - watched the UFC fighting - there were a ton of people there for that - we got there early so we had great seats.

Waitress was super friendly - service was quick - sadly no hoppy beers - just the generic line up of Major brewers.....that could use a change in my opinion.

Would def go back and try some of the other items.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
781 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Wing-a-Ding”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Second visit to Quaker Steak. Great selection of wings and sauces. The wings were decent but not as good as they sounded on paper. Other menu items like grilled salmon were surprisingly good for a sports bar. Overall a good sports bar but nothing more. Good beer and wing specials on Sundays.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A new location, still a good place to go”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I went with my husband on a Friday evening for dinner. The main dining area was packed, so we were seated in the back bar area, which I flt was nicer than the main area. Even though they were busy, we were waited on fairly quickly. We had drinks then chicken quesadillas and wings. Overall, the meal was good, wings were a little greasy, but hey, they are wings! We would not go there every week, but definitely plan to o back. In the summertime they have a "bike night" and hundreds of motorcycles park and there is a live band outside and an outside bar and dinner area as well. Service may be bait slower those evenings with that in mind.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRLZHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quaker Steak and Lube also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing