We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIT moving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Rochester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“RIT moving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Exterior is well maintained and the staff is friendly and efficient. Interior is a bit dated but it is well maintained and clean. Considering the cost of rooms when RIT has an event or students are moving, $ 149.00 plus taxes and fees was a bargain.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Ron,
Thank you so much for sharing about your stay with us and fellow travelers. I am happy to hear that we were the right fit for you and the family during the move in weekend. Thank you for the kind words about the exterior our maintenance team works very hard to keep it looking amazing. I am excited to share that over the next year we will be making a lot of updates to the interior of the hotel. Plans have started and we are expecting to start this winter, I will be thrilled to hear your thoughts of the changes when you return to the property for the many occasions that RIT has the parents and families in town. Thank you for staying with us we look forward to your next visit and wish the best of luck to the college student!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    106
    63
    33
    23
See reviews for
142
57
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel over 8 years. In that time nothing but the staff has changed. Carpets and furniture are stained and worn. The breakfast area is very small and crowded - it should be 3 times the size. It is not always as clean as I would expect. I belong to the Best Western Loyalty Program. I am at the highest level in the rewards program, yet I never feel special or acknowledged by the staff. I always hand them my card upon check in. They record my number or state it is already on the reservation, but I need to ask for an upgrade or perk. They never upgrade me. Sometimes they give me a bag with water and chips - but I see them hand the same bag to others- so my status in the rewards program means nothing to them. Wondering why I continue to stay? Well it is extremely close to where I need to go on my trips to Rochester. I use to stay at this hotel 1 - 2 times per month. Now I stay at other hotels in the area as well. Many of these hotels offer a nicer, newer product for the same cost or less.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Martin,
Thank you so much for your feedback, it is very important to us to know what you think. I would like to thank you for being such a loyal guest to us over the years. I am sorry to hear that we have not exceeded you expectations during your last stay, however I am very excited to share with you that we understand what you and guests have told us. Coming this fall is a renovation to the property and expansion of the breakfast room, fitness center and much more. We would like to keep you as our guest and if there is anything I can do for you are answer and concerns you may have please do not hesitate to reach out to me. 585-427-2700 or jmahoney@visions-hotels.com

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This Best Western is located South of Rochester on I 390 (N of NY Thruway). Every type of restaurant you could want is near by. The BBQ place has good Catfish fingers. There is a Wegman's about a mile away, and a Regal Theater. A Thai restaurant, across from an Indian hole-in-the-wall that is better than the nearer Indian place. (The Aloo Tikki is way too spicy.) There is a Chinese Buffet. The Sunoco has a Convenience store. Free Dinner Buffet (M-Th).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us and future travelers. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and surrounding area, I can agree that there is so much to do and if only traveling for a few days there wouldn't be enough time. Myself and the team are excited to hear that everything was great during your stay and cant wait to see you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Good value stay...rooms clean, quiet...nothing overly fancy (sink was in the main room..not the washroom fyi). No frills at a reasonable price.

Staff very friendly....was here for a quick stop enroute to NYC and as a one night layover had no real complaints.

Didnt take them up on their free breakfast. .was bit crowded in there when I was departing....

Restaurant next door....or its on a strip with other chain dining experiences (and a mall).

If you just need a place to rest your head....

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank trent_doubledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Trent,
Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay, I am sorry to hear that the breakfast room was a bit crowded. I would however like to share that the next time you are in the area we would like to accommodate you again and that we have plans of expanding the breakfast room this fall. I am happy to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations of hospitality and will be happy to share your thoughts with them. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is our third stay at the Marketplace BW.As with our 2 previous stays check in was quick and efficient... nice touch offering a bottle of cold water and chips. King size room was clean, the bathroom is a bit small but I like the idea of having the vanity outside. Room came with a microwave and fridge. Breakfast was the standard breakfast meat and eggs... sufficient enough, all day coffee was a bonus (always hot!!!). Room was made up before we returned and all supplies were replenished. Strong WiFi

Great place for the money....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed yet another great stay with us. I will be pleased to share you words with the team and we all look forward to seeing you on your forth stay to the property. If there is anything else we can do for you please feel free to reach out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very nice value for the price paid. Hotel room was clean. Bathroom is extremely small area for shower and toilet, but other than that no complaints. good, clean place for a reasonable price. Check in and check out were easy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the kind words about your stay, I will be happy to share your comments with the team. I am glad that we met and exceeded your expectations and would like to take this time to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great hotel, Excellent location. Very Clean. Bathroom smaller than expected. Great breakfast. Thank you for everything. Very close to all amenities and the freeway. We will surely return to this location again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the kind words and taking the time out of your day to share your stay with us. I an very pleased to hear that you enjoy not only the property but the Rochester as a whole, I know that the team will be very happy to hear about the nice things you have shared. I am also very excited to hear that we will be seeing you soon, if there is anything else we can do for you please do not hesitate to call.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Radiance Inn And Suites
Radiance Inn And Suites
#26 of 30 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
4.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn
Address: 940 Jefferson Rd, Rochester, NY 14623-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Rochester Marketplace is perfectly located in the "heart" of Rochester's shopping and restaurant district.We are minutes from all major highways and the Rochester International Airport. We offer plush accommodations featuring micro fridges, 40-inch flat panel televisions with DVD players, wired and wireless internet access, and a fabulous free hot full breakfast buffet for all our guests. We are minutes from the city center, convention district, and all major universities and corporations. Our staff will gladly shuttle you to any venue with in five miles of our property. Our staff looks forward to being your home away from home when visiting the Rochester New York area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marketplace Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing