We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
eden, United States
1 review
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This Best Western was very nice. The staff was helpful. We had a free dinner and breakfast which really saves money. Just there one overnight for college visit, but it was clean and comfortable. Internet was very fast. No pool, which we didn't care about. I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while here at the hotel. I will be sharing your feedback with my team, We hope to see you again the next time you are in Rochester or visiting the college.

Thank you
James Mahoney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    122
    79
    37
    25
See reviews for
163
69
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After a lengthy effort the staff at best Western headquarters assisted a full refund for 2 nights at this hotel. A room that was to be renovated was used when the hotel was over-booked. The room fell far below standards and Best Western stood behind their name.

Room Tip: Get there early even if you have a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiagaraQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Overall we were pretty happy with our stay here, but the bed was hard and the bathroom had mold on the ceiling and walls. Our shower didn't work properly. Lots of perks though (free breakfast, free DVDs to watch, free cookies). The free dinner on weeknights was only soup and iceberg lettuce in a bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, Manager at Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mathew,

Thank you for the feedback on the hotel and your stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed some of the amenities that we offer. As far as the issues you had with the room I am taking them up with maintenance department to have them fixed ASAP. The feedback you gave us was very helpful to myself and my team. I have shared your review with the entire team to help get the issues resolved.

If you would like to contact me directly to further discuss the issues you had please feel free to call 585-427-2700 and ask for myself.

Thank you again
James Mahoney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League city,Tx, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

see complete list given a few pages ago... #1 Bathtub would not drain #2 Toilet would not flush #3 Iron would not work #4 Coffee maker would not work #5 Wash basin slow drain (connected to same drain as bath and all kinds of "JUNK" would float up #6 Curtain was so old it could not be completely closed and sun would wake you when it came up. #7 overall motel appearance was "old, rundown & seedy If I had not reserved by internet I would have left after viewing lobby much less the room. If I had more time I would go on but I have to look up a Motel chain to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Robert,
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to me and my team. I can assure you that all the issues you have had are being addressed by myself. If you would like to contact me directly to further discuss the issues you had I would like to try and fix the issue.

Please feel free to contact me at 585-427-2700, Ask the clerk for myself.

Thank you
James Mahoney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our room was very clean! The queen beds in the double rooms had relatively new mattresses with duvets on them which had a clean covering every time the beds were changed, much better then bedspreads that are stained you find in most hotels!. The beds were comfy to sleep on.The room had a microwave and fridge. The bathroom itself was tiny although the sink and mirror were just outside the door of the bathroom. The vanity on the sink was small but adequate. The room when we entered was cool and smelled clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The price for the four us, which was excellent, included a complimentary dinner at a sister hotel within walking distance and breakfast on site. Both meals were great although the breakfast had far more choices. There were snacks and coffee in the main lobby at all time. We will certainly return when passing through the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlopsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Shlopsky,

Thank you very much for your feed back on your stay with us. I am glad to hear we met and exceeded your expectations. I will be happy to share the feedback with the staff. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed all of our food from the free dinner to the breakfast, and all the snacks in between. We look forward to seeing you again and being able to make you feel at home.

Thank you
James Mahoney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, ny
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for one night in late June 2013. The location is easy to get to and close to shopping, restaurants, local colleges, etc. The room was nothing special, but clean and functional. The bathroom is small with the vanity, sink and mirror outside the toilet/tub room. There are plenty of towels. I know this sounds silly but I was surprised to have shampoo but no conditioner in the room. We found little noise from hallway traffic. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. We were able to walk across the parking lot to a nearby BBQ restaurant which was very convenient.
Overall, the our room was fine. There was a weird wallpaper patch job in the bathroom and some damaged tile work but nothing that would make me not stay again. We booked our room through Priceline and I do have to say I would not pay regular price for these rooms. Breakfast is a nice perk but we slept in so I cannot comment on it and the free internet was great to have.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear chrelaine,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, I am sad to hear that you felt average. We are striving to make some changes so that the experience is not average. I am happy to hear that you will give us another chance to make you feel at home. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next booking at 585-427-2700

Thank You
James Mahoney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We are members of the Best Western rewards program and have stayed at many locations across North America over the past 7 years.... having said that, never have I ever been so digusted with the room that we stayed in 2 nights ago.
I was so disappointed that I couldn't even complain to the hotel staff, and we know from our first time staying here that the room could have been better. Had we not been so tired, and if it wasn't so late, we would have probably just checked out immediately and gone to another hotel close by.

We stayed at this location in Oct 2012 and there were no huge complaints, just seemed a bit run down, but it served the purpose of a one night stay while passing thru.
Typically we always choose a standard 2 bed room on the main floor for ease of access to and from our vehicle, etc.
The breakfast service was fantastic and it was your typical BW breakfast fare of waffles, eggs, bacon, cereal, etc. The hotel staff was very friendly, especially the ladies setting up the breakfast room in the morning.

This time, our room was so digusting that I don't think my description will do it justice.
Again, we were passing thru and checked in quite late, and the front desk person was very amicable and pleasant. We stayed in room 121 on the main floor and the musky smell was alittle worse than normal, so we opened up the window and there were spider webs all over it.
Then we took our shoes off with my barefeet I could feel that the carpet was damp.... all over. It didn't smell like it was from cleaning or steaming, and my feet were actually dirty from walking on the carpet so we put our shoes back on. Because the sink and mirror are actually located outside of the room with the toilet and shower, there is carpet in front the bathroom sink as well. The towels felt damp, as if they weren't completely dried, or maybe just everything in the room was damp?
2 of the smaller hand towels had hair on them that didn't belong to us.
The toilet paper dispenser was a steel casing that looked as though it had never been wiped down. All around the bathtub there was grime and dirt that you could see without looking too hard. Because the room with the toilet and tub was so small, you couldn't enter the washroom and close the door without practically standing in the tub. The door had stains and handprints all over it. The shower curtain which was practically on top of you while you sat on the toilet smelled like dirty feet and body odor.
When we locked the hotel room door there was dust and dirt all over the locking mechanism and hand prints all over the door and light switches.
The first bed we sat on made a huge clunky noise as if the frame was broken, so then we sat on the second bed and it did the same thing. Whenever you sat down it made a huge clunk and settled in. Therefore while we were sleeping, if either of us got out of bed, it woke the other up.
The shower wouldn't drain properly so we were standing in gross water for the duration of our showers.
It was very disgusting.

The only up side to this hotel stay, was again the hotel staff was very friendly, and especially the lady who was setting up the breakfast items. Breakfast was hot and tasty, scrambled eggs were very good.

We pass thru Rochester about 4 times a year, and although this location is perfect for our needs, we will not be staying at this BW ever again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_princess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Best_Western, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to take the time to apologize for the stay you had with us while here in Rochester. All of the issues you experienced are unacceptable and not what I want you to remember us by. I can tell you that the hotel will be undergoing huge change in the course of the next few months to prevent the very issues you expressed. I am sad to hear that you had 2 bad stays with us, I would like to speak to you on this matter in more detail, Please feel free to contact me any time at 585-427-2700. I can guarantee you that I will be sharing this information with my staff to use the feedback you gave us to better ourselves.

Thanks Again
James Mahoney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
6.4 mi away
Radiance Inn And Suites
Radiance Inn And Suites
#28 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#25 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn

Property: Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn
Address: 940 Jefferson Rd, Rochester, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Rochester Marketplace is perfectly located in the "heart" of Rochester's shopping and restaurant district.We are minutes from all major highways and the Rochester International Airport. We offer plush accommodations featuring micro fridges, 40-inch flat panel televisions with DVD players, wired and wireless internet access, and a fabulous free hot full breakfast buffet for all our guests. We are minutes from the city center, convention district, and all major universities and corporations. Our staff will gladly shuttle you to any venue with in five miles of our property. Our staff looks forward to being your home away from home when visiting the Rochester New York area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marketplace Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing