We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good time”
Review of Seneca Park Zoo

Seneca Park Zoo
Ranked #7 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I love this zoo! It provides you an opportunity to get up close and personal with so many of the animals. My son loves the exhibts and learning about all the animals. The staff take such good care of them and the grounds. Beautiful way to get outdoors with the family and friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aodrzywolski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    164
    76
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Love the updates!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our first visit to the zoo in a few years, and enjoyed it. The new section was incredible, very cool! The animals were fun to watch and staff interaction was great. There is also a playground and a small wading pool which kids were taking their shoes off and enjoying on the very hot day we went on. Great place to spend a few hours!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelize1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very fun”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The river otter exhibit is a gas. A lot of the animal areas have been remodeled or expanded. Many traveling exhibits come here.

Helpful?
1 Thank deesousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

There were only a handful of people at the zoo when we visited. We got to see the two elephants getting their baths. That was a treat. The lion cubs were very playful and adorable. And we got to see the male polar bear. There was a sign up saying the female polar bear may be pregnant so only one bear would be out at a time. First time we went by maintenance was inside area working so no bear. Finally he finished and the big guy came out. He was adorable! Nice zoo.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful Park”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

They have done a lot of work to make this zoo an enchanting destination for both children and adults. I visited with my 6 month old granddaughter and she enjoyed dipping her toes into the natural-looking wading area that's a few inches deep. We loved the variety of animals, and especially liked the huge polar bear tank. There are plenty of concession spots to grab a snack or lunch and a modest gift shop too. It was a very enjoyable trip and we'll definitely visit again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Park Zoo also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing