We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Seneca Park Zoo

Seneca Park Zoo
Ranked #7 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Seneca Park Zoo inspires our community to connect, care for, and conserve wildlife and wild places.
London
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'm not a great zoo fan, prefer to see animals in natural habitat etc, but I guess there is some argument in their favour and I have to say that most of the animals on display appeared to be in good health and condition and not exhibiting too many signs of stress. The zoo is clearing developing and attempts are being made to improve the habitats and stimulate the occupants as well as creating a good experience for visitors.

For children this zoo is just the right size and has plenty of child friendly activities and play areas.

Its a pity there isn't a more appetising cafe but I appreciate the visitor numbers probably don't justify this.

We witnessed the elephants being bathed, something they clearly enjoyed. Their enclosure was spotless and smelt far fresher than others i've visited.

There were three lion cubs and a tiny orang utan to coo over.

Most interestingly there is a well equipped animal hospital where visitors can watch examinations and even operations through a glass screen. Sadly no one around during our visit but if you were lucky enough to be there when they were operating I can imagine this would be fascinating.

Yes its just a collection of animals for us to gawp at but just maybe it will be your child who goes and is inspired to become a conservationist and make it all worthwhile.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LollypopSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    169
    79
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Small Zoo, very accessible”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a wonderful "small" zoo, yet quite varied in its exhibits. The environments attempt to give the animals the best space they can. The rhino and big cat enclosures were designed to give visitors lots of viewing access without encroaching on the animals. Zoo docents are abundant and willing to talk knowledgeably about their animals. Easy foot access to all exhibits. This is one of those "finds" - something one might not expect to find in this city. Nice half day outing. We did not have small children with us, went as a "grown up day", but would definitely a good family experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinGal825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wild Life Everywhere”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I personally recommend this place because zoo's don't have age limits at all, everybody can enjoy a zoo. We went in winter so some animals had to be in climate appropriate rooms but There's animals from all over the world so it's a really interesting place to go. The zoo is quite big but you get a map in the entrance so there's not really too much possibilities of getting lost. The place is really clean, animals appear to be healthy so that is a good sign. You should probably check it out on summer because in winter the floor can get a little slippery and as it is on the outside (most of it) you are gonna get cold.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Josselyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice small city zoo”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Zoo is much better than it was 5 years ago! Like the new addition. My child loves the lion bus and the elephants. Not always a lot of places open to eat, seems to be hit or miss on time of day. Suggest you pack a lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boots772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Zoo Brew At Seneca Park Zoo”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I attended ZooBrew for the first time this past Friday and I was astounded! It was absolutely wonderful and a great idea for the community and the zoo! We loved the food and beverages and of course the animals! This is just what Rochester needed....it was clean, professional, a festival type atmosphere and the $10 admission ticket was affordable, appropriate and of course for a good cause. If you haven't gone to one yet, do so in the future. The parking was tight so park in the neighborhood outside the main entrance. It was a good thing to see the parking lots full as it meant that this event is a great success. Kudos to SPZ for coming up with this idea.....we will go back. It is 21 and up which is great to have a happy hour atmosphere with no kids. So Nice!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Park Zoo also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing