We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Partnering in Conservation, at its best.”
Review of Seneca Park Zoo

Seneca Park Zoo
Ranked #7 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Partnering in Conservation, at its best.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The zoo itself is small and quaint. We visited on a Saturday afternoon right around what I would imagine to be a busy time. The zoo did not seem overly crowded, although there were people in any direction at any given time. I, however, am not a fan of zoos because I am an avid animal rights supporter. The Seneca Park Zoo did an excellent job partnering with other conservation organizations throughout the world. They use the zoo as a place to raise endangered animals and then release back into the wild, to produce more. It seemed genuine and at the heart of all they do!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    164
    76
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

They have done an excellent job upgrading the zoo. It is wonderful and we love to go there. We try to go at least once a year to see the new animals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brett3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast With Santa Was Great”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have taken my kids to the Breakfast With Santa the last several years and I would highly recommend this event...especially if the snow is falling. If you haven't checked out the zoo in the snow you are missing out on something wonderful. Great year round experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank PunkyLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with the animals”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Seneca Park Zoo keeps expanding and adding close-up viewing opportunities. There are several areas where kids (and adults) can see the animals so closely it's like they are right next to you. The new lion exhibit makes you feel like you are in Africia. The Senca Park Zoo is a great place for the whole family.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luvocean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Zoo Boo was a blast!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently, I took my grandchildren to the Zoo Boo - they had a blast and learned a lot. The new African section is awesome!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank patricg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seneca Park Zoo also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Seneca Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing