We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll just keep on coming back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Market

Swan Market
Ranked #3 of 1,269 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: All meat at Swan Market is hand-cut, all sausage hand-made by owner Barry Fischer, who apprenticed with German master butchers to bring you a taste of Germany that's authentic down to the last detail. Swan's renowned German lunches are served Wednesday through Saturday from 11 to 2. Grab a seat at one of the communal tables and hoist a glass of imported German beer. It's impossible to go away hungry! There's also live German music on the last Thursday and Friday of each month. Wan can also cater events of any size, with anything from cold-cut trays to a full pig roast.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“You'll just keep on coming back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

You can stop into Swan Market to pick a few items up at the deli, and no problems there- they have some quality, well made German deli items that always please. To get the full experience, though, stop in during restaurant hours and have a meal. Considering the small size and the way the tables are configured, you'll probably end up sharing a table; so make some new friends! Get some heaping portions of their delicious German options, a pitch of German beer for the table, and sit pack for a fun meal. It's always bustling during restaurant hours, but don't let that deter you- get in there and join the crowd.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    36
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Prosit !! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Haven't had authentic Spatzle in a decade! Good schizel and cabbage. Will being friends next time. Community spirit reigns. If you studied abroad or lived in Europe, really enjoy a noncookie cutter place, this is for you. Leave eye rolling teens at home (my mistake) and enjoy this place!

Helpful?
5 Thank eastave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really authentic German food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

The experience- Since we've never experienced community tables and my husband had to go to work that evening, we decided to get there early. We're glad we did. We got there at 11, we sat down and the people kept pouring in. We ordered and ate in our meals all in about 30 minutes. The service was super fast. Expect to wait to be seated. That left me feeling rushed because there were people watching us and waiting to swoon into our seats as soon as we got up. The community tables do not allow for any kind of privacy. All you can do is hope and pray that the person who sits next to you has good hygiene and good table manners.

The food- Amazing. My husband has been to Germany and he says this is authentic German food. The potato salad is out of this world good! We both loved our meals. It was all very good! I'm all for grabbing some to take home next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ScarceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST German food and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have been eating at Swans for more than 12 years. It is a one stop shop for fresh cut meats, homemade sausages, sides and a fabulous lunch. Lunch is always fresh and delicious, and the beer is always cold! The owner, Barry, his family and staff are wonderful! Very attentive and helpful with selections for lunch and the meat counter. The store is filled all things German. Take home a pound of the German rye, cut to order. At peak lunch time (Wed-Sat 11-2) there can be a wait, but it is worth it. The long communal tables are great! It's fun to sit with and meet new people. There is also music the last Thursday and Friday of the month. Not sure what else to say except...you've really got to try this place! It's the best German food around!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank calmecrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVE this little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is one of our favorite places to grab lunch after a morning at the Rochester Public Market (or any other excuse we can come up with). It is nothing fancy to if you are even the slightest bit of a stick in the mud you should skip it!

You will likely have to wait in line before being seated at one of the spots at the communal tables. That's right, communal tables. You're going to be eating next to strangers. You will have fun conversations with strangers. You may have to share the bottles of mustard. Its all part of the charm. Waiting in line can be a hoot too. The first time I went with my Husband we waited in line for about 15 minutes. While standing there we chatted with the owner, he offered us a beer and some sausage while we waited and we browsed the shelves filled with German goodies.

When a spot opened up we sat next to some very friendly older gentleman and ordered the yummiest German food I've ever had in the Rochester area. Anything you order will be yummy but my personal favorite is the Jaeger Schnitzel with Spetzle and Warm Potato Salad. OH! And don't forget the mushroom gravy on top! YUM!

This place is the real deal and is bursting at the seems with character and authenticity. Don't miss an opportunity to visit!

**You should note that the location isn't great. Not a lot of parking and the neighborhood can be a bit scary. Park close and lock your doors. We do and have never had a problem.**

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelsrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Market also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Swan Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing