We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vegetarian options” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Owl House

The Owl House
Ranked #14 of 1,262 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great menu with options for both vegetarians and meat eaters. Service was good with great recommendations.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SquidStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    68
    27
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was all right...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food here was okay. Nothing spectacular. I'm vegan and cook a lot of vegan meals at home (along with cooking vegan/vegetarian meals for camps) and I would personally just stay at home and cook my own food then go out to eat at the owl house. It has a nice atmosphere but I think it's more of a place for hippies. This place is more of a simple brunch, light lunch place. They could have more selection on their menu, but their menu seems to fit their purpose. Not too much to choose from. I just think there could be more of a variety... as well as larger serving sizes.

Pros:
-Nice atmosphere, can eat inside or outside
-Simple menu, not too crazy, more of for people that are just starting to go vegan/vegetarian

Cons:
-Food could taste better
-Could have more of a creative menu with more variety if the chef is willing to take the risk.
-Overpriced

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Missy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service very accommodating and pleasant, food delicious for a broad range of ages and food preferences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted by our brunch experience at Owl House. Great "fall scramble" eggs with butternut squash and Brussels sprouts, well brewed coffee, seasonal waffle, lentil burger, I think everyone in our party was satisfied. MacKenzie was an outstanding waiter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bcnsontca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully creative and interesting food for vegans and meat eaters, alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff at the Owl House are friendly and welcoming, and have a knowledge of the menu options and an interest in food trends and interesting factoids to make the dining experience a feast for not only the body, but also the mind. We are meat-eaters who include eating vegetarian as part of our lifestyle, and couldn't be more pleased with the engaging menu. The cauliflower wings are an early sell-out, and the chickpea appetizer is yummy. The bar cocktails and wine and beer selections are surprisingly broad and unsurprisingly creative and fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KC_Rochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful creative food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My daughter
(vegan and gluten-intollerant),my bonus son(carnivore), my husband(gluten and onion allergic) and myself( almost omnivore) all found three courses of wonderful creative food here--especially the Cauli Wings and some of the best scallops I have had anywhere.


)
(

)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Owl House also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Owl House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing